CD Brown Street [Joe Zawinul] [CD Boxset] [2 discs] (CD 1144649),
back to browsing

Brown Street [Joe Zawinul] [CD Boxset] [2 discs]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Brown Street
    2. In a Silent Way
    3. Fast City
    4. Badia / Boogie Woogie Waltz
    5. Black Market
    0. DISC 2:
    1. March of the Lost Children
    2. Remark You Made, A
    3. Nightpassage
    4. Procession
    5. Carnavalito
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 3121

  • Credits
    ProducerJoe Zawinul; Joachim Becker

    Personnel: Joe Zawinul (keyboards, vocoder); Victor Bailey (bass guitar); Nathaniel Townsley (drums); Alex Acua (percussion).
    Additional personnel: Koji Paul Shigihara (guitar); Paul Heller, Olivier Peters (flute, soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone, drum); Heiner Wiberny (flute, soprano saxophone, acoustic bass, drum); Karolina Strassmeyer (flute, acoustic bass, drum); Jens Neufang (baritone saxophone, bass saxophone, bass drum); Rob Bruynen, Kenny Rampton, John Marshall , Klaus Osterloh, Andy Haderer (trumpet, flugelhorn); Mattis Cederberg (trombone, bass trombone); Bernt Laukamp, Ludwig Nuss, Dave Horler (trombone); WDR Big Band.
    The founder of the pioneering jazz fusion band Weather Report, the keyboard player Joe Zawinul, returns to that outfit's back catalogue in this live set recorded at his own Prague nightclub, with orchestrated versions of classics such as "A Remark You Made," "Black Market," and "Night Passage."

  • Critic Reviews
    Entertainment Weekly (p.75) - "[H]e breathes fresh life into Weather Report classics and the gem he penned for Miles Davis..." -- Grade: A
    Down Beat (p.62) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "Zawinul's formidable keyboard skills plus Vince Mendoza's arrangements, a superb rhythms section and a powerhouse big band add up to a gem."
    JazzTimes (p.79) - "Credit goes to all for creating a rarity -- a big band recording that grooves."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $10.93
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for