CD Canteloupe Island [Remaster] (CD 1237979),
back to browsing

Canteloupe Island [Remaster]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. King Kong
    2. Idiot Bastard Son
    3. Twenty Small Cigars
    4. How Would You Like to Have a Head Like That
    5. Music for Electric Violin and Low Budget Orchestra
    6. America Drinks and Goes Home
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Foosh
    2. Pamukkale
    3. Contact
    4. Canteloupe Island
    5. Starlight, Starbright
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 706

  • Credits
    ProducerDick Bock; Michael Cuscuna (Reissue)
    EngineerDavid Brand; Dick Klune

    Personnel: Jean-Luc Ponty (violone, baritone violin, electric violin); Frank Zappa (guitar); Vincent DeRosa (descant, French horn); Milton Thomas (viola); Harold Bemko (cello); Jonathan Meyer (flute); Gene Cipriano (oboe, English horn); Donald Christlieb, Donald Christello (bassoon); Ernie Watts (soprano saxophone, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone); Ian Underwood (tenor saxophone); Arthur Maebe (flugelhorn, French horn); George Duke (piano, electric piano); Gene Estes (vibraphone, percussion); John Heard , Wilton Felder (electric bass); Dick Berk, Art Tripp, John Guerin (drums).
    Audio Remasterer: Andrew Thompson .
    Liner Note Author: Leonard Feather.
    Recording information: Thee Experience, Hollywood, CA (09/??/1969-10/06/1969).
    Arranger: Frank Zappa.
    Leave it to England's BGO to reissue Jean-Luc Ponty's finest recording session under his own name. Apparently, Blue Note can't be bothered to do this on CD in the homeland. Canteloupe Island was recorded in 1969 while Ponty was with Frank Zappa. This set includes five Zappa originals. The composer participated, as did several of his past and present Mothers of Invention including Ian Underwood and George Duke. In the 21st century, this music is some of the best that fusion had to offer. It's lyrical, warm, fantastically performed, and it's got plenty of heart and soul. It contains Zappa's sense of humor and incredible harmonic vocabulary, Ponty's fiery technique and soulful playing, intensely gifted rhythm sections with Arthur III Tripp on drums, bassist Wilton Felder, and Duke, of course, playing electric piano throughout. Zappa's fine compositions include "King Kong," "Idiot Bastard Son," "Twenty Small Cigars," "America Drinks and Goes Home," and the classic "Music for Electric Violin and Low Budget Orchestra," the latter conducted by Underwood. Zappa makes an appearance on electric guitar for Ponty's "How Would You Like to Have a Head Like That," which was deeply inspired by Zappa's knotty, quirky lead lines. Ponty's soloing throughout is hot; it is based in blues and the 20th century classical tradition, and he reaches the extremes of both poles until he finds a way to knit them together. LA saxophonist Ernie Watts burns here, pulling out his toughest, most boisterous chops. In addition to the Zappa pieces, there are fine tunes by Duke ("Foosh"), Ponty ("Contact"), and of course the title cut by Herbie Hancock. ~ Thom Jurek

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $19.52
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for