CD Captain of the Deep [Digipak] (CD 899460),
back to browsing

Captain of the Deep [Digipak]

  • 1. We Don't
    2. Mota
    3. Round About
    4. Jamaj's
    5. Rob
    6. Tobie Continyou
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 9

  • Credits
    ProducerMichael Ehlers; Michael Ehlers
    EngineerH. Geerling

    Denis Charles: Denis Charles; Wilbert de Joode (double bass); Jemeel Moondoc, Nathan Breedlove.
    Personnel: Denis Charles (drums); Jemeel Moondoc (alto saxophone); Nathan Breedlove (trumpet); Kees Polling (programming).
    Liner Note Author: Byron Coley.
    Recording information: de Effenaar Culture Center, Eindhoven, Holland-Zuid-Net (05/09/1991); Zuid-Nederlands Jazz Festival, The Netherlands (05/09/1991).
    Photographers: Ken Brunton; Charles Gross.
    Recorded at the Zuid-Nederlands Jazz Festival in Holland, this piano-less quartet features drummer Denis Charles with Jemeel Moondoc on alto saxophone, Wilber DeJoode on bass, and Nathan Breedlove on trumpet. With a sound often approximating the work of early Ornette Coleman, the two horns spurt attractively dissonant themes, after which the four players turn out repeatedly fascinating solos and interactive lines. Underrecorded Breedlove is surprisingly agile and charmingly ragged, with a clear debt to Don Cherry and Bobby Bradford. Unsung giant Moondoc is stunning throughout, with twisted, winding lines stretched across a brush of vibrant colors. Charles smolders with excitement, driving hard and pushing forcefully, but laying low when necessary. Its great melodies and adventurous solos make Captain of the Deep a vital inside/outside document of the 1990s. ~ Steve Loewy

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $10.56
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for