CD Chicago Rhythm - Apex Blues: The Recordings of Jimmie Noone 1923-1943 [Remaster] * (CD 1058990),
back to browsing

Chicago Rhythm - Apex Blues: The Recordings of Jimmie Noone 1923-1943 [Remaster] *

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Play That Thing
    2. One I Love Belongs to Somebody Else, The
    3. Lonesome and Sorry
    4. Messin' Around
    5. I Know That You Know
    6. Sweet Sue
    7. Four or Five Times
    8. Every Evening
    9. Ready for the River
    10. Forevermore
    11. Too Busy
    12. Oh, Sister! Ain't That Hot?
    13. Apex Blues
    14. Monday Date, A
    15. Blues My Naughty Sweetie Gives to Me
    16. Oh, Sister! Ain't That Hot?
    17. King Joe
    18. Sweet Lorraine
    19. Some Rainy Day
    20. I Can't Give You Anything but Love
    21. Baby
    22. It's Tight Like That
    23. Let's Sow a Wild Oat
    24. She's Funny That Way
    25. St. Louis Blues
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Chicago Rhythm
    2. I Got a Misery
    3. Wake Up, Chillun, Wake Up
    4. Love Me or Leave Me
    5. Anything You Want
    6. Am I Blue?
    7. My Daddy Rocks Me with One Steady Roll
    8. Apex Blues
    9. Ain't Misbehavin'
    10. That Rhythm Man
    11. Off Time
    12. S'posin'
    13. True Blue Lou
    14. Through (How Can You Say We're Through?)
    15. Satisfied
    16. I'm Doin' What I'm Doin' for Love
    17. He's a Good Man to Have Around
    18. My Melancholy Baby
    19. After You've Gone
    20. Love
    21. Rado Scuffle, El
    22. Deep Trouble
    23. Cryin' for the Carolines
    24. Have a Little Faith in Me
    25. Should I?
    0. DISC 3:
    1. I'm Following You
    2. When You're Smiling
    3. I Lost My Gal from Memphis
    4. On Revival Day
    5. I'm Drifting Back to Dreamland
    6. Virginia Lee
    7. So Sweet
    8. San
    9. You Rascal You
    10. Bring It on Home to Grandma
    11. Little White Lies
    12. Something to Remember You By
    13. He's Not Worth Your Tears
    14. Trav'lin' All Alone
    15. I Need Lovin'
    16. It's You
    17. River Stay 'Way from My Door
    18. When It's Sleepy Time Down South
    19. Dixie Lee
    20. Inka Dinka Doo
    21. Delta Bound
    22. Like Me a Little Bit Less
    23. Porter's Love Song, A
    24. I'd Do Anything for You
    25. Shine
    0. DISC 4:
    1. Liza
    2. Soon (There'll Be Just the Two of Us)
    3. Lookie, Lookie, Lookie, Here Comes Cookie
    4. Lullaby of Broadway
    5. It's Easy to Remember
    6. He's a Different Kind of Guy
    7. 'Way Down Yonder in New Orleans
    8. Blues Jumped a Rabbit, The
    9. Sweet Georgia Brown
    10. Sweet Lorraine
    11. I Know That You Know
    12. Bump It (The Bumps) (Apex Blues)
    13. Four or Five Times
    14. Japansy
    15. New Orleans Hop Scop Blues
    16. Keystone Blues
    17. They Got My Number Now
    18. Intro Into...
    19. Porter's Love Song, A
    20. Goodbye, Don't Cry Blues
    21. Body and Soul
    22. Lady Be Good
    23. Memories of You
    24. Honeysuckle Rose
    25. I'm Sorry I Made You Cry
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 926

  • Credits

    Personnel: Jimmie Noone (vocals, clarinet, alto saxophone); Junie C. Cobb (vocals, guitar, banjo); Eddie Pollack (vocals, alto saxophone, baritone saxophone); Guy Kelly (vocals, trumpet); Louis Armstrong (vocals, cornet); Jack Teagarden (vocals, trombone); Earl Hines (vocals, piano); O'Neill Spencer (vocals, drums); Elmo Tanner, Ed Thompson, Helen Savage, Georgia White, May Alix, Lillie Delk Christian, Mildred Bailey, Art Jarrett (vocals); Mancy Carr, Wilbur Gorham (guitar, banjo); Dave Barbour, John Henley, Lonnie Johnson, Teddy Bunn (guitar); Joi Basley, Stan Wilson (banjo); Jimmy Bell (violin); Clifford King (clarinet, alto saxophone); Pete Brown Brooklyn Blues Blowers (alto saxophone); Jerome Pasquall, Frances Whitby (tenor saxophone); Natty Dominique, Billy May, Charlie Shavers (trumpet); Elwood Graham, Freddie Keppard, Alex Calamese, Tommy Ladnier (cornet); Fayette Williams, Eddie Vincent, Preston Jackson (trombone); Alex "Charlie Brown" Hill , Frank Smith , Gideon Honore, Richard M. Jones (piano); Ollie Powers, Johnny Wells, Benny Washington, Tubby Hall, Zutty Singleton, Wallace Bishop (drums).
    Liner Note Author: Sally-Ann Worsfold.
    Recording information: Chicago, IL (09/1923-??/1943); New York, NY (09/1923-??/1943); Richmond, IN (09/1923-??/1943); Yes Yes Club, Chicago, IL (09/1923-??/1943).
    Directors: Ollie Powers; Jimmie Noone.
    A smooth playing New Orleans clarinetist, Jimmie Noone first made his mark as a bandleader at Chicago's Apex Club in the early 1920s with his impressive Apex Club Orchestra, and he prefigured in many ways later clarinet-playing bandleaders like Benny Goodman and Artie Shaw. This comprehensive four-disc, 100-track set spans Noone's entire recording career, beginning with his 1923 session with the Harmony Syncopators and ending with his final session in 1943 with the Capitol Jazzmen, and includes two versions of Noone's signature tune, "Sweet Lorraine," as well as two versions of the swirling "Apex Blues" and a zippy take on "Sweet Georgia Brown." Featured players along the way here include famed trumpeter Louis Armstrong, pianist Earl Hines, trombonist Jack Teagarden, and singer Mildred Bailey, among others. Although his recording career was relatively brief, Noone's influence, particularly on figures like Goodman, was immense. This generous set shows why. ~ Steve Leggett

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $19.86
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for