CD Destination Motherland: The Roy Ayers Anthology [Remaster] (CD 996065),
back to browsing

Destination Motherland: The Roy Ayers Anthology [Remaster]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. We Live in Brooklyn, Baby
    2. Coffy Is the Color
    3. Love From the Sun
    4. Sweet Tears
    5. Red, Black & Green
    6. Pretty Brown Skin
    7. Boogie Back, The
    8. Tear to a Smile, A
    9. Old One Two, The
    10. Life Is Just a Moment (Part 2)
    11. Time and Space
    12. Black Five, The
    13. Everybody Loves the Sunshine
    14. Memory, The
    15. Hey Uh What You Say Come On
    16. Running Away
    17. Searching
    18. Baby You Give Me a Feeling
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Third Eye, The
    2. Everytime I See You
    3. Sweet Tears - (Disco Version)
    4. Can't You See Me - (Original 12" Version)
    5. No Deposits, No Returns
    6. Love Will Bring Us Back Together
    7. Fever
    8. What You Won't Do For Love
    9. Thank You Thank You
    10. Rock Your Roll
    11. Motherland Intro - Africa, Centre of the World
    12. Africa, Centre of the World
    13. Destination Motherland
    14. Land of Fruit and Honey
    15. Our Time Is Coming
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 899 712

  • Credits

    Personnel: Roy Ayers (vocals, keyboards, vibraphone).
    By the late 1990s Roy Ayers had come to be regarded as something of a prophet of the acid-jazz movement: DJs and hip-hop artists pilfered his 1970s albums to make use of the cool, jazzy funk grooves. It is in this light that DESTINATION MOTHERLAND: A ROY AYERS ANTHOLOGY is best considered. Over its two discs and 33 tracks, DESTINATION finds Ayers and his vibraphone blurring the boundaries between jazz, disco, soul, psychedelia, hard funk, and smooth R&B, creating music that is at once genre-defying and thoroughly accessible. It's a great introduction to Ayers's '70s work, and a motherlode for fans of soul- and acid jazz.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $11.91
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for