CD Diane Hubka Goes to the Movies (CD 1154533),
back to browsing

Diane Hubka Goes to the Movies

    1. Day at the Races: All God's Chillun Got Rhythm, A
    2. Adventurers: Double Rainbow, The
    3. Casino Royale: The Look of Love
    4. Breakfast at Tiffany's: Lover's in New York (Theme)
    5. Lady and the Tramp: He's a Tramp
    6. Bad and the Beautiful: The Bad and the Beautiful, The
    7. You Were Never Lonelier: I'm Old Fashioned
    8. Long Goodbye: The Long Goodbye, The
    9. Agatha: Close Enough For Love
    10. You Only Live Twice: You Only Live Twice
    11. Wild Is the Wind: Wild Is the Wind
    12. Black Orpheus: Manha de Carnaval
    13. Invitation: Invitation
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 18V1054

  • Credits
    EngineerTalley Sherwood; Larry Stensvold; Anthony Rose; Ed Faris

    Since moving to the West Coast from New York City, jazz vocalist Diane Hubka has worked with a different group of musicians than on earlier CDs. Her first recording since the cross-country move finds her in top form, backed by an outstanding group including pianist/arranger Christian Jacob (who works with both Tierney Sutton and Flora Purim and was with his late father-in-law Maynard Ferguson for a time), trumpeter and flugelhornist Carl Saunders (a leader in his own right and member of various all-star Los Angeles big bands), guitarist Larry Koonse, bassist Chris Colangelo and drummer Joe LaBarbera (the late Bill Evans' last drummer). Hubka's subtle vocal style works in her favor, as the cool-toned singer doesn't use a lot of theatrics to get lyrics across, while she occasionally enjoys scatting in unison with her musicians in an engaging way. One of the her strengths has been choosing lesser known or out of favor songs; her theme for this outing consists of works debuted in movies, many of which will surprise the listener. Her modern bop treatment of the decades-old "All God's Chillun Got Rhythm," the gently seductive interpretation of "The Look of Love" (with lush backing by Jacob), the playful bossa nova setting of "He's a Tramp" and the hip rendition of "Close Enough for Love" (featuring Koonse and Colangelo) showcase how wide-ranging a musician Hubka is. Perhaps the greatest surprise is "You Only Live Twice," from the James Bond film series; her understated delivery with minimal backing from her rhythm section reveals a great song that was hidden in its movie debut due to an overblown arrangement. Finally, Hubka accompanies herself on acoustic guitar in a masterful performance of "Manha de Carnaval" (sung in Portuguese). Diane Hubka adds to her impressive rsum as one of the top jazz vocalists of her generation with this all-around excellent disc. ~ Ken Dryden

  • Critic Reviews
    JazzTimes (p.110) - "Hubka wraps her clear-as-mountain-stream sound around 'The Look of Love,' 'Close Enough for Love,' Wild is the Wind'...with consistently winning results."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $14.78
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for