CD Dream Dancing: Songs of Cole Porter (CD 1171228),
back to browsing

Dream Dancing: Songs of Cole Porter

  • 1. You'd Be So Nice to Come Home To
    2. You're the Top
    3. I Love Paris
    4. So in Love
    5. I Concentrate on You
    6. Dream Dancing
    7. I Love You
    8. What Is This Thing Called Love?
    9. Easy To Love
    10. Everytime We Say Goodbye
    11. It's All Right With Me
    12. Why Shouldn't I
    13. From This Moment On
    14. Begin the Beguine
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 5227

  • Credits

    Personnel: Beegie Adair (piano); Roger Spencer (bass); Chris Brown (drums).
    Recorded at Wildwood Studios, Brentwood, Tennessee.
    Tributee: Cole Porter.
    This straight-ahead Cole Porter tribute was one of the first three releases from Hillsboro, a Nashville-based label that got off the ground in early 2001. (The other two were Antoine Silverman's Blue Moods and Jack Jezzro's Jazz Elegance.) Pianist Beegie Adair certainly knows her way around these songs, and she's aided expertly by bassist Roger Spencer and drummer Chris Brown. On track after track she hits the nail on the head, supplying just the right harmonic nuances, rhythmic twists, and expressive shades. She manages to slip some "Giant Steps" changes into "You're the Top." She takes "So in Love" as a ballad and "I Concentrate on You" at a brisk Latin bounce. She tackles the not-so-famous "Why Shouldn't I" and closes with a solo piano "Begin the Beguine." On "Every Time We Say Goodbye" she cadences deceptively to end her solo intro, pivoting into a new key when the trio enters. These are just some of the personal touches that make Adair's approach to Cole Porter anything but ordinary. ~ David R. Adler

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $11.98
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for