CD Earth Jones (CD 160292),
back to browsing

Earth Jones

  • 1. Three Card Molly
    2. Is Seeing Believing?
    3. Top of the Middle, The
    4. Earth Jones
    5. Never Let Me Go
    6. Day and Night
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 4015

  • Credits
    ProducerDavid Liebman; Herb Wong
    EngineerRudy VanGelder

    Personnel: Elvin Jones (drums); Dave Liebman (soprano saxophone, flute); Terumasa Hino (cornet); Kenny Kirkland (piano); George Mraz (bass).
    Recorded at Van Gelder Studios, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey on February 10, 1982. Includes liner notes by Herb Wong.
    Personnel: Elvin Jones (drums); David Liebman (flute, soprano saxophone); Terumasa Hino (cornet); Kenny Kirkland (piano, keyboards).
    Liner Note Authors: David Liebman; Lee Jeske; Herb Wong.
    Recording information: Van Gelder Recording Studios, Englewood Cliffs, NJ (02/10/1982).
    Photographer: Darryl Pitt.
    On this interesting but unfortunately out of print LP, the immortal drummer Elvin Jones teams up with four advanced but very different improvisers: Dave Liebman (doubling on soprano and flute), cornetist Terumasa Hino, pianist Kenny Kirkland and bassist George Mraz. Other than a lyrical version of "Never Let Me Go," the songs were contributed by either Jones ("Three Card Molly") or Liebman, whose "Day and Night" is not surprisingly based on the chord changes of "Night and Day." The solos are unpredictable but logical, and the blend between the lyrical Hino and Liebman is appealing. ~ Scott Yanow

  • Critic Reviews
    JazzTimes (11/03, p.116) - "The ensemble works well as a unit and the tunes - two by Jones, three by Liebman and the standard 'Never Let Me Go' - still sound relatively fresh."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $10.03
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for