CD East/West [Slipcase] (CD 402433),
back to browsing

East/West [Slipcase]

    1. I Heard It Through the Grapevine
    2. Blues for Los Angeles
    3. Shenandoah
    4. Boubacar
    5. Pipe Down
    6. Hard Rain's A-Gonna Fall, A
    1. My Man's Gone Now
    2. Days of Wine and Roses, The
    3. You Can Run
    4. Ron Carter
    5. Interlude
    6. Goodnight Irene
    7. Vanguard, The
    8. People
    9. Crazy
    10. Tennessee Flat Top Box
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 79863

  • Credits
    ProducerLee Townsend; Lee Townsend
    EngineerClaudia Engelhart; Tucker Martine

    Personnel: Bill Frisell (guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Bill Frisell (loops); Tony Scherr (acoustic guitar, bass instrument); Viktor Krauss (bass instrument); Kenny Wollesen (drums, percussion).
    Audio Mixer: Tucker Martine.
    Recording information: The Village Vanguard, New York, NY (12/09/2003-05/11/2004); Village Vanguard, New York, NY (12/09/2003-05/11/2004); Yoshi's, Oakland, CA (12/09/2003-05/11/2004).
    Editors: Lee Townsend ; Jon Evans .
    Photographers: Monica Frisell; Ralph Gibson.
    Though Bill Frisell's standing was never in doubt, this two-disc live set further confirms the guitarist's position as one of the most talented, flexible, and innovative musicians of his generation. Frisell has worked with almost every ensemble configuration imaginable, so it's something of a treat to hear him perform in a trio here; the setting truly shows off his improvisatory breadth and sensitivity to interplay.
    The two discs--recorded at gigs on the East and West coasts, respectively--feature drummer Kenny Wollensen, and bassists Viktor Krauss and Tony Scherr (Krauss plays on one disc, Scherr on the other). This fine company aids Frisell on a genre-hopping journey that includes extended treatments of traditional material ("Goodnight Irene"), folk ("A Hard Rain's A-Gonna Fall"), country ("Tennessee Flat Top Box"), and R&B ("I Heard It Through the Grapevine"). The sensibility here is extremely progressive, and the playing is top-notch, resulting in a superb set of first-rate contemporary jazz.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $15.94
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for