CD Embrace [Dave Pietro] (CD 893305),
back to browsing

Embrace [Dave Pietro]

  • 1. Never Nothing
    2. Equanimity
    3. Interlude #1
    4. Scene Between Two Unseens, The
    5. Canto Triste
    6. Cururu
    7. Interlude #2
    8. Remembrance
    9. Interlude #3
    10. And So It Is
    11. Hamartia
    12. Embrace
    13. Choro Bandido
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 73242

  • Credits
    ProducerDave Pietro
    EngineerMichael Marciano

    Personnel: Dave Pietro (soprano, alto & C-melody saxophones); Valtinho Anastacio (vocals, percussion); Tom Christensen (tenor saxophone, clarinet, alto flute); Scott Wentholt (trumpet, flugelhorn); Pete McGuinness (trombone); David Berkman (piano, Fender Rhodes piano); Helio Alves (piano); Pete McCann (acoustic & electric guitars); Nilson Matta, David Finck (acoustic bass); Sergio Brandao (electric bass); Duduka Da Fonseca, Paulo Braga (drums).
    Recorded at Systems Two Recording, Brooklyn, New York in January-May 2003.
    Personnel: Dave Pietro (soprano saxophone, alto saxophone, C-melody saxophone); Valtinho Anastacio (vocals, berimbau, congas, cuica, pandeiro, shaker, surdo, caxixi, percussion); Pete McCann (guitar, electric guitar, nylon-string guitar); Tom Christensen (alto flute, clarinet, tenor saxophone); Scott Wendholt (trumpet, flugelhorn); Pete McGuinness (trombone); David Berkman (piano, Fender Rhodes piano); Hlio Alves (piano); David Finck, Nilson Matta (acoustic bass); Sergio Brandao (electric bass); Duduka Da Fonseca, Paulinho Braga (drums).
    Audio Mixer: Michael Marciano.
    Liner Note Author: Bret Primack.
    Recording information: Systems Two Recording Studio, Brooklyn, NY (01/2003-05/2003).
    Arranger: Dave Pietro.
    Dave Pietro's approach to Brazilian music avoids the tepid attempts by Americans who simply add Brazilian rhythm sections to their existing front lines and expect the results to astound everyone. Instead, the saxophonist mixed and matched musicians from both continents in different combinations from one track to the next, fusing elements of post-bop into original compositions with Latin rhythms. Pietro's "Never Nothing" features adventurous solos by the leader (on alto sax) and trumpeter Scott Wendholdt. The delightful "Equanimity" suggests children playing, while his writing for the backing horns and reeds, along with the wordless vocals of Valtinho Anastacio, make it a song worth returning to. The engaging percussion of Anastacio and drummer Paulo Braga provides the foundation of "Cururu," which would likely get any crowd on their feet to dance. Pete McCann introduces the timeless bossa nova "Canto Triste" on nylon-string acoustic guitar as Pietro switches to the infrequently heard C-melody sax for this bittersweet ballad. Pietro plays soprano sax in his tense, uptempo "Hamartia" and his mellow ballad "Embrace." The supporting cast of musicians also includes either Helio Alves or David Berkman on piano, bassist Nilson Matta, drummer Duduka Da Foncesa (of the group Trio da Paz), trombonist Pete McGuinness, and tenor saxophonist Tom Christensen, among others. ~ Ken Dryden

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $10.00
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for