CD Gimme Dat Harp Boy: Roots of the Captain (CD 1220123),
back to browsing

Gimme Dat Harp Boy: Roots of the Captain

  • 1. Intro
    2. New Minglewood Blues - Noah Lewis Jug Band
    3. Lion, The - Duke Mitchell
    4. Diddie Wa Diddie - Blind Blake
    5. Mope-Itty Mope - The Boss-Tones
    6. New Black Snake Blues, Pt. 1 - Lonnie Johnson/Victoria Spivey
    7. New Black Snake Blues, Pt. 2 - Lonnie Johnson/Victoria Spivey
    8. Best Batch Yet - Captain Beefheart & the Magic Band
    9. His Majesty the Policeman - Lord Buckley (live)
    10. Rubber Dolly Rag - Georgia Yellow Hammers
    11. Tomi Tomi
    12. Cream Puff Comment
    13. Old Folks' Boogie - Al Simmons
    14. You're Gonna Need Somebody on Your Bond - Blind Willie Johnson
    15. Wild Cat Blues - James P. Johnson & his Orchestra/Sidney Bechet
    16. Rockin' Chair Blues - Robert Petway
    17. Weaver's Life - The Dixon Brothers
    18. Jungle Suite - Rahsaan Roland Kirk
    19. Egg Comment
    20. Keep on the Firing Line - Blind Joe Taggart
    21. Who's Yehoodi? - Cab Calloway & His Orchestra
    22. Howlin' Wolf Comment
    23. Hungry Wolf
    24. Somebody's Leaving - Captain Beefheart & the Magic Band
    25. Fang, The - Nervous Norvus
    26. Skeleton in the Closet, The - Louis Armstrong (live)
    27. Poem - Captain Beefheart
    28. Koko - Charlie Parker's All Stars (live)
    29. Go Away From My Door
    30. Little Scratch - Captain Beefheart & the Magic Band
    31. Johnny B. Goode
    32. New Highway 51 - Tommy McClennan
    33. Stravinsky Comment
    34. Flaming Autograph - Captain Beefheart & the Magic Band
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 312

  • Credits

    GIMME DAT HARP BOY is a compilation of blues artists that have influenced Captain Beefheart, it also contains rare material by Beefheart himself.
    Tributee: Captain Beefheart.
    Personnel: Dorsey M. Dixon, Howard Dixon, Lonnie Johnson, Robert Petway, Tommy McClennan, Blind Joe Taggart (vocals, guitar); Noah Lewis (vocals, harmonica); Louis Armstrong (vocals, trumpet); Victoria Spivey (vocals, piano); Kanui & Lula, Cab Calloway (vocals); Danny Barker (guitar); Yank Rachell (mandolin); Jerry Blake (clarinet, alto saxophone); Rahsaan Roland Kirk (saxophone, manzello); Sidney Bechet (soprano saxophone); Hilton Jefferson, Charlie Parker (alto saxophone); Chu Berry, Walter Thomas (tenor saxophone); Dizzy Gillespie, Lammar Wright, Jr., Mario Bauz, Miles Davis (trumpet); Tyree Glenn (trombone, vibraphone); Keg Johnson, Quentin Jackson (trombone); James P. Johnson, Tadd Dameron, Benny Payne (piano); Cozy Cole (drums).
    Recording information: Atlanta, GA (12/1926-??/1967); Charlotte, NC (12/1926-??/1967); Chicago, IL (12/1926-??/1967); Memphis, TN (12/1926-??/1967); New York, NY (12/1926-??/1967); Paris, France (12/1926-??/1967); Richmond, IN (12/1926-??/1967); Royal Roost Club, NY (12/1926-??/1967).
    Arranger: Benny Carter .

  • Critic Reviews
    The Wire (3/03, p.64) - "...A wonderful album....A convincing portrait of the sounds that were bouncing around Don Van Vliet's mind..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $28.82
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for