CD Grace [David Friesen] (CD 1090839),
back to browsing

Grace [David Friesen]

  • 1. Esquencendo
    2. Change of Heart
    3. All the Things You Are
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 200203

  • Credits

    Personnel: David Friesen (bass); Jeff Gardner (piano).
    Grace is a good duo session pairing bassist David Friesen with pianist Jeff Gardner. (It's comparable to Friesen's 1999 outing with Denny Zeitlin.) Friesen contributes only two originals: the title track and "Change of Heart," the latter featuring an extended bass solo. Most of the writing falls to Gardner, whose six tunes range from mid-tempo blues ("Blues for Hawk") to minor-key bossa ("Achados E Perdidos") to gospel/pop inflection ("Dad's Dream"). Gardner also takes an unaccompanied turn with "Preludio Para Rita." There's a standards component too: a bright, swinging "All the Things You Are" and a closing meditation on "My Funny Valentine." Recorded live in Belgium (there's no hint of audience response until the very end), the disc is hampered by a brittle piano sound and an excess of reverb, but the writing and playing are strong. ~ David R. Adler

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $12.61
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for