CD Greatest Ballads (CD 6974655),
back to browsing

Greatest Ballads

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. When I Fall in Love
    2. It Never Entered My Mind
    3. You're My Everything
    4. My Funny Valentine
    5. Something I Dreamed Last Night
    6. 'Round Midnight
    7. There Is No Greater Love
    8. I See Your Face Before Me
    9. In Your Own Sweet Way
    10. Stella by Starlight
    11. I Waited for You
    12. You Don't Know What Love Is
    13. Gnrique
    14. Nature Boy
    15. Blue in Green
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Easy Living
    2. Yesterdays
    3. Bess, Oh, Where's My Bess
    4. Florence sur les Champs lyses
    5. How Deep Is the Ocean
    6. I Loves You, Porgy
    7. Django
    8. Autumn Leaves
    9. My Man's Gone Now
    10. Just Squeeze Me
    11. Smooch
    12. Gone, Gone, Gone
    13. Bye Bye Blackbird
    14. Enigma
    15. Man I Love, The
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): CDX7723

  • Credits

    Personnel: Miles Davis (trumpet); Cannonball Adderley (alto saxophone); John Coltrane, Sonny Rollins (tenor saxophone); Hank Jones , Horace Silver, Red Garland, Thelonious Monk, Tommy Flanagan, Bill Evans (piano); Milt Jackson (vibraphone); Jimmy Cobb , Kenny Clarke, Max Roach, Philly Joe Jones, Art Blakey, Art Taylor (drums).
    Recording information: Hackensack, NJ (04/03/1954-03/09/1958); New York (04/03/1954-03/09/1958); Paris, France (04/03/1954-03/09/1958); Hackensack, NJ (05/09/1952-03/02/1959); New York (05/09/1952-03/02/1959); Paris, France (05/09/1952-03/02/1959); Hackensack, NJ (12/04/1957); New York (12/04/1957); Paris, France (12/04/1957); Hackensack, NJ (1952-1959); New York (1952-1959); Paris, France (1952-1959).
    Arranger: Gil Evans.
    This is a wonderful compilation, full of gems like "'Round Midnight," "Blue in Green," "How Deep Is the Ocean," "Bye Bye Blackbird," and many others recorded with a virtual litany of jazz greats, including John Coltrane, Sonny Rollins, Horace Silver, Hank Jones, Cannonball Adderley, Charles Mingus, Art Blakey, Max Roach, and so many more, containing over two and a half hours of mid-period Miles Davis doing what he did best -- finding the heart of a ballad and making it sound like his Harmon-muted trumpet was crying the blues for all the lost and lonely souls in the world. ~ Steve Leggett

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $11.64
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for