CD Hoagy Sings Carmichael [Johnny Mandel & His Orchestra/Hoagy Carmichael] (CD 16010100),
back to browsing

Hoagy Sings Carmichael [Johnny Mandel & His Orchestra/Hoagy Carmichael]

  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 131549

  • Credits

    Personnel includes: Hoagy Carmichael (vocals); Harry Klee (flute, alto saxophone); Mort Friedman (clarinet, tenor saxophone); Marty Berman (bass clarinet, baritone saxophone); Art Pepper (alto saxophone); Harry "Sweets" Edison, Don Fagerquist, Conrad Gozzo, Ray Linn (trumpet); Al Hendrickson (guitar); Jimmy Rowles (piano, celeste); Ralph Pena, Joe Mondragon (bass); Nick Fatool, Irv Cottler (drums).
    Recorded at Forum State Theatre, Los Angeles, California on September 10, 11 & 13, 1956. Includes liner notes by George Frazier.
    Hoagy Carmichael's last significant recording is a project whose format should have been repeated in later years. Sticking to vocals, Carmichael performs ten of his compositions including "Georgia on My Mind," "New Orleans," "Skylark," "Baltimore Oriole," "Rockin' Chair," and "Lazy River." What is unusual is that he is accompanied by an 11-piece all-star jazz group and that his voice takes its turn with trumpeters Harry "Sweets" Edison and Don Fagerquist, altoist Art Pepper, and pianist Jimmy Rowles. The match up works quite well, for Hoagy's songs have long been viable devices for jazz improvising. [The CD reissue of this unique set adds a previously unreleased instrumental rendition of "Georgia on My Mind" to the already impressive program.] ~ Scott Yanow

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $12.71
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for