CD Impulsive! Unmixed (CD 870364),
back to browsing

Impulsive! Unmixed

  • 1. Helluva Town, A - George Russell
    2. II B.S. - Charles Mingus
    3. Toro, El - Chico Hamilton
    4. Mizrab - Gabor Szabo
    5. Swing Low, Sweet Cadillac - Dizzy Gillespie
    6. Spanish Rice - Chico O'Farrill/Clark Terry
    7. Attica Blues - Archie Shepp
    8. Astral Traveling - Pharoah Sanders
    9. Bamboo Flute Blues - Yusef Lateef
    10. Stolen Moments - Oliver Nelson
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 5282

  • Credits
    ProducerCreed Taylor; Ed Michel; Bill Szymcyzk; Bob Thiele; Bryan Koniarz (Compilation)

    Personnel: Clark Terry (vocals, trumpet, flugelhorn); Dizzy Gillespie (vocals, trumpet); Chico O'Farrill, Henry Hull, Joshie Armstead (vocals); Cornell Dupree, Gabor Szabo, Barry Galbraith (guitar); Michael White (violin, percussion); John Blake, Leroy Jenkins (violin); Ronald Lipscomb, Calo Scott (cello); Eric Dolphy (flute, alto saxophone); Yusef Lateef (bamboo flute); Pharoah Sanders (soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone, percussion, bells); Jerome Richardson (soprano saxophone, baritone saxophone); Oliver Nelson (alto saxophone, tenor saxophone); Clarence White, Hal McKusick, Marion Brown, Phil Woods (alto saxophone); Dick Hafer, Billy Robinson , Al Cohn, Roland Alexander, Archie Shepp, Booker Ervin (tenor saxophone); James Ware, George Barrow (baritone saxophone); Richard Gene Williams , Ernie Royal, Freddie Hubbard, Michael Ridley, Charles McGhee, Joe Wilder, Art Farmer, Roy Burrowes, Eddie Preston (trumpet); Clifford Thornton (cornet); Tom Mitchell Jr., Jimmy Cleveland, Kiane Zawadi, Charles Stephens, Bob Brookmeyer, Britt Woodman, Charles "Majeed" Greenlee (trombone); Hakim Jami (euphonium); Don Butterfield (tuba); Lonnie Liston Smith (piano, claves, percussion); Georges Arvanitas, Jaki Byard, Mike Longo, Bill Evans (piano); Clifford Jarvis (drums, maracas, percussion, bells); Chico Hamilton, Candy Finch, James Black , Marty Morell, Max Roach, Roy Haynes, Walter Perkins, Beaver Harris (drums); Cecil McBee (finger cymbals, percussion); Nene DeFense, Juma Sultan, George Bohanon, Ollie Anderson, Hal Gordon (percussion).
    Recording information: Memory Lane, Los Angeles, CA (11/24/1958-01/26/1972); New York, NY (11/24/1958-01/26/1972); The Jazz Workshop, Boston, MA (11/24/1958-01/26/1972); The Record Plant, New York, NY (11/24/1958-01/26/1972); Van Gelder Studios, Englewood Cliffs, NJ (11/24/1958-01/26/1972).
    Arranger: Chico O'Farrill.
    The remix phenomenon continues apace with this fine set of Impulse classics reworked by some of the more respectable electronica artists of the 2000s. With a collection of source material that includes George Russell, Charles Mingus, Pharoah Sanders, and John Coltrane, among others, the set is already moving in the right direction, but the inventive, sometimes radical reworkings by the likes of Prefuse 73, the RZA, Kid Koala, and Sa Ra put this a cut above your average pedestrian, lounge-vibed, electronica/jazz outing.

  • Critic Reviews
    Mojo (Publisher) (p.114) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[A] fine new remix project, where a cadre of eminent dance DJs and hip hop producers put a contemporary spin on vintage jazz grooves."
0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $5.90
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for