CD Impulsive! (CD 844127),
back to browsing


  • 1. Just Kiddin'
    2. So in Love
    3. Moments
    4. Time Is Now, The
    5. One Side of You
    6. Inpulsive!
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 00102

  • Credits
    ProducerFinn Kragerup
    EngineerLars Palsig

    Personnel: Eliane Elias (piano); Bob Brookmeyer (conductor, valve trombone).
    Danish Radio Jazz Orchestra includes: Nicolai Schultz (soprano & alto saxophones, flute, alto flute); Michael Hove (soprano & alto saxophones, flute, clarinet); Uffe Markussen (soprano & tenor saxophones, clarinet, bass clarinet); Tomas Franck (soprano & tenor saxophones, clarinet); Benny Rosenfeld, Jesper Riis, Palle Bolvig (trumpet, flugelhorn); Vincent Nilsson, Steen Hansen (trombone, baritone horn); Kjeld Ipsen (trombone); Axel Windfeld (bass trombone, tuba); Klaus Lohrer (bass trombone); Nikolaj Bentzon (keyboards, synthesizer); Anders "Chico" Lindvall (guitar); Thomas Ovesen (acoustic & electric basses); Jonas Johansen (drums); Ethan Weisgard (percussion).
    Recorded at Studio 3, Broadcast House, Copenhagen, Denmark from February 23-26, 1997. Includes liner notes by Peter H. Larsen.
    IMPULSIVE! was nominated for the 2002 Grammy Award for Best Large Jazz Ensemble Album.
    Personnel: Eliane Elias (piano); Bob Brookmeyer (valve trombone); Anders Lindvall (guitar); Michael Hove (flute, clarinet, soprano saxophone, alto saxophone); Uffe Markussen (clarinet, bass clarinet, soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone); Flemming Madsen (clarinet, bass clarinet, brass); Tomas Franck (clarinet, soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone); Henrik Bolberg Pedersen, Jens Winther, Palle Bolvig (trumpet, flugelhorn); Steen Hansen, Vincent Nilsson (trombone, baritone horn); Kjeld Ipsen (trombone); Axel Windfel (bass trombone, tuba); Nikolaj Bentzon (keyboards, synthesizer); Thomas Ovesen (electric bass); Jonas Johansen (drums); Ethan Weisgard (percussion).
    Audio Mixer: Lars Palsig.
    Liner Note Authors: Peter H. Larsen; Eliane Elias.
    Recording information: Broadcast House (02/23/1997-02/26/1997); Copenhagen, Denmark (02/23/1997-02/26/1997); Studio 3 (02/23/1997-02/26/1997).
    Photographer: Jan Persson.
    Arranger: Bob Brookmeyer.
    This collaboration between valve trombonist Bob Brookmeyer, Brazilian pianist-composer Eliane Elias, and the Danish Radio Jazz Orchestra is superb. The arrangements by Bob Brookmeyer bring out the best in both the music and the musicians. Whether it's the funky rhythms of "Just Kiddin'" or the lush wash of chords we hear on the ballad "One Side of You," this album is packed with great writing and riveting performances. We hear virtuosic soloing throughout. In fact, if there's anyone out there who is still suspicious of European jazz musicians, this record will convince you otherwise.
    Elias and Brookmeyer share the soloing on "So In Love," each soliloquizing eloquently atop the delicate swing of the rhythm section. Other selections such as "Moments" and "The Time is Now" feature hot improvs by the members of the orchestra, namely trumpeter Henrik Bolberg Pederson, bassist Thomas Ovesen and drummer Jonas Johansen. It adds up to an excellent, well-rounded effort by all involved.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $18.98
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for