CD In Person/The Hi-Fi Sounds of Harry James (CD 1240873),
back to browsing

In Person/The Hi-Fi Sounds of Harry James

  • 1. Ultra
    2. Blues from 'An American in Paris'
    3. Mam Bongo
    4. Memphis Blues
    5. Flight of the Bumble Bee, The
    6. There They Go (Tiny Blues)
    7. Jackpot Blues
    8. You Go to My Head
    9. Don't Stop
    10. Feet Draggin' Blues
    11. Back Beat Boogie
    12. Anything
    13. One for My Baby
    14. Marchin'
    15. Tenderly
    16. Moonlight Fiesta
    17. I'll Remember April
    18. Concerto for Clarinet
    19. Bali Hai
    20. Stealin' Apples
    21. Perdido
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Ciribiribin
    2. Trumpet Blues
    3. You Made Me Love You
    4. James Session
    5. I've Heard That Song Before
    6. Cherry
    7. I'm Beginning to See the Light
    8. My Silent Love
    9. Sleepy Lagoon
    10. Two O'Clock Jump
    11. I Cried for You
    12. Jalousie
    13. It's Been a Long Long Time
    14. Velvet Moon
    15. Music Makers
    16. Ciribiribin
    17. Mole, The
    18. Autumn Serenade
    19. Sleepy Time Gal
    20. Crazy Rhythm
    21. Melancholy Rhapsody
    22. September Song
    23. Carnival
    24. Strictly Instrumental
    25. Blue Again
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 918

  • Credits

    Personnel: Harry James (trumpet, bongos); Helen Forrest (vocals); Allan Reuss, Tiny Timbrell (guitar); Gerald Vinci, Mischa Russell, Marshall Sasson, Kurt Dieterle, Dan Lube, Paul Shure (violin); David Sterkin, Stanley Spiegelman, Paul Robyn (viola); Cy Bernard, Roy Kramer (cello); Herb Lorden (flute, clarinet, alto saxophone); Tommy Gumina (accordion); Herbie Steward (alto saxophone); Corky Corcoran, Pat Chartrand (tenor saxophone); Bob Poland (baritone saxophone); Conrad Gozzo , Don Smith , Everett McDonald, Joe Dolny , Ralph Osborn , Art Depew, Nick Buono (trumpet); Dick Nash , Hoyt Bohannon, Roy Main, Lew McCreary, Dave Wells (trombone); George Martimore Roberts (bass trombone); Juan Tizol (valve trombone); Bruce McDonald, Doug Parker, Larry Kinnamon (piano); Buddy Combine, Jackie Mills, Louie Bellson (drums).
    Audio Remasterer: Dave Bennett .
    Liner Note Author: Peter Vacher.
    Recording information: Aragon Ballroom, Chicago, IL (10/25/1952-12/02/1955); Hollywood, CA (10/25/1952-12/02/1955).
    Arranger: Juan Tizol.
    First with Benny Goodman and then as leader of his own orchestra, Harry James was one of the most popular trumpeters and bandleaders of the Swing Era. Coming out of semi-retirement in the 1950s, James recorded four albums for Capitol Records: ONE NIGHT STAND, IN HI-FI, MORE HARRY JAMES IN HI-FI, and JAZZ SESSION, and the two-disc SOUNDS OF collects all four in one nicely annotated, digitally remastered package. With these albums, James both revisited his jazz roots and to varying degrees embraced a slightly more modern big band approach. Special guests include singer Helen Forrest (who sang with James in his heyday) and ace drummer Louis Bellson (who also played with Duke Ellington). There's plenty of swing, dynamics, soaring sound quality, and of course, James's golden-toned horn.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $9.52
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for