CD Individualism Of Gil (4988005331687) (CD 1255517),
back to browsing

Individualism Of Gil (4988005331687)

  • 1. Time of the Barracudas (Bonus Track)
    2. Barbara Song
    3. Las Vegas
    4. Flute Song / Hotel Me
    5. El Torrador
    6. Proclamation (Bonus Track)
    7. Nothing Like You - (previously unreleased)
    8. Concorde (Bonus Track)
    9. Spoonful (Bonus Track) - (previously unreleased)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 5146

  • Credits

    Personnel includes: Gil Evans (arranger, piano), Johnny Coles, Bernie Glow, Ernie Royal, Thad Jones (trumpet), Jimmy Cleveland, Tony Studd (trombone), Ray Alonge, Julius Watkins, Gil Cohen, Don Corado (French horn), Bill Barber (tuba), Eric Dolphy, Wayne Shorter, Al Block, Steve Lacy, Andy Fitzgerald, Jerome Richardson, Bob Tricarico (reeds, woodwinds), Bob Maxwell, Margaret Ross (harp), Harry Lookofsky (tenor violin), Kenny Burrell, Barry Galbraith (guitar), Ron Carter, Paul Chambers, Gary Peacock, Richard Davis, Ben Tucker (bass), Elvin Jones (drums).
    Recorded at A&R Studios, New York in September, 1963; at Webster Hall, New York on April 6 and May 25, 1964; and at Van Gelder's Studio, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey on July 9 and October 29, 1964.
    CD contains 5 bonus tracks.
    If it contained nothing else than than the ravishing slow version of Kurt Weill's "Barbara Song," 1964's THE INDIVIDUALISM OF GIL EVANS would still rate as one of the greatest of '60s jazz LPs. It's possible that tenor saxophonist Wayne Shorter never surpassed his solo here, which is similar in impact to the young Stan Getz's career-defining turn on Woody Herman's "Summer Sequence Pt. IV." Even though the original "Barbara Song" from THE THREEPENNY OPERA is actually pretty jaunty, this magical arrangment still has a claim as a definitive one. Elsewhere, the undulating "Las Vegas Tango," marked by an exciting solo by guitarist Kenny Burrell during the bridge, is another example of Evans at his best, which wasn't always the case since he tended to reserve his best writing for the collaborations with Miles Davis and others. The CD version offers a whole LP's worth of bonus material from the original sessions, including the swirling "Time Of The Barracudas," Bob Dourough's "Nothing Like You," and an extended treatment of Willie Dixon's "Spoonful."

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $40.98
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for