CD Instant Party [Poncho Sanchez] (CD 101215),
back to browsing

Instant Party [Poncho Sanchez]

  • 1. Hey Bud
    2. Joseito
    3. Listen Here / Cold Duck Time
    4. Cuidate Compay
    5. Chile con Soul
    6. Co Co May May
    7. Ixtapa
    8. Lip Smacker
    9. Sin Timbal
    10. One Mint Julep
    11. Besame Mama
    12. Watermelon Man
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 2250

  • Credits
    ProducerNick Phillips (Compilation)

    Personnel: Poncho Sanchez (vocals, congas, percussion); Ray Charles (vocals); Pee Wee Ellis, Scott Martin (tenor saxophone); Sal Cracchiolo (trumpet); Fred Wesley (trombone); David Torres (piano); Joey DeFrancesco, Billy Preston (Hammond b-3 organ); Tony Banda (bass instrument, background vocals); Mongo Santamara (congas).
    Instant Party includes 11 previously released tracks by bandleader and conga player Poncho Sanchez, focusing on his Concord label recordings. Unlike similar Concord artists who have recorded for numerous labels during their career, including Mongo Santamaria and Tito Puente, Sanchez has been with the company for the majority of his career, making the track picks truly depict the best of his overall output as opposed to just his output on a particular label. Taken from 11 separate albums, highlights include "Listen Here/Cold Duck Time," "Chile con Soul," "One Mint Julep" (with Ray Charles), "Bsame Mama" (with Mongo Santamaria), and "Watermelon Man." These tracks deliver exactly what the title promises while presenting the Latin jazz novice with a quality sampling of Poncho Sanchez. ~ Al Campbell

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $12.45
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for