CD Keith Jarrett at the Blue Note: The Complete Recordings [Box] (CD 976948),
back to browsing

Keith Jarrett at the Blue Note: The Complete Recordings [Box]

  • 0. DISC 1: FRIDAY JUNE 3RD, 1994-1ST SET:
    1. In Your Own Sweet Way
    2. How Long Has This Been Going On
    3. While We're Young
    4. Partners
    5. No Lonely Nights
    6. Now's the Time
    7. Lament
    0. DISC 2: FRIDAY JUNE 3RD, 1994-2ND SET:
    1. I'm Old Fashioned
    2. Everything Happens to Me
    3. If I Were a Bell
    4. In the Wee Small Hours of the Morning
    5. Oleo
    6. Alone Together
    7. Skylark
    8. Things Ain't What They Used to Be
    0. DISC 3: SATURDAY JUNE 4TH, 1994-1ST SET:
    1. Autumn Leaves
    2. Days of Wine and Roses
    3. Bop-Be
    4. You Don't Know What Love Is / Muezzin
    5. When I Fall in Love
    0. DISC 4: SATURDAY JUNE 4TH, 1994-2ND SET:
    1. How Deep Is the Ocean
    2. Close Your Eyes
    3. Imagination
    4. I'll Close My Eyes
    5. I Fall In Love Too Easily / The Fire Within
    6. Things Ain't What They Used to Be
    0. DISC 5: SUNDAY JUNE 5TH, 1994-1ST SET:
    1. On Green Dolphin Street
    2. My Romance
    3. Don't Ever Leave Me
    4. You'd Be So Nice to Come Home To
    5. La Valse Bleue
    6. No Lonely Nights
    7. Straight, No Chaser
    0. DISC 6: SUNDAY JUNE 5TH, 1994-2ND SET:
    1. Time After Time
    2. For Heaven's Sake
    3. Partners
    4. Desert Sun
    5. How About You?
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 527 638

  • Credits
    ProducerManfred Eicher
    EngineerJan Erik Kongshaug

    AT THE BLUE NOTE contains six complete sets by the Keith Jarrett Trio, played over the course of a three-night period.
    Personnel: Keith Jarrett (piano); Gary Peacock (acoustic bass); Jack DeJohnette (drums).
    Recorded live at the Blue Note, New York, New York from June 3-5, 1994. Includes liner notes by Keith Jarrett
    The six-CD box set Keith Jarrett at the Blue Note fully documents three nights (six complete sets from June 3-5, 1994) by his trio with bassist Gary Peacock and drummer Jack DeJohnette. Never mind that this same group has already had ten separate releases since 1983; this box is still well worth getting. The repertoire emphasizes (but is not exclusively) standards, with such songs as "In Your Own Sweet Way," "Now's the Time," "Oleo," "Days of Wine and Roses," and "My Romance" given colorful and at times surprising explorations. Some of the selections are quite lengthy (including a 26-and-a-half-minute version of "Autumn Leaves") and Jarrett's occasional originals are quite welcome; his 28-and-a-half-minute "Desert Sun" reminds one of the pianist's fully improvised Solo Concerts of the 1970s. Throughout the three nights at the Blue Note, the interplay among the musicians is consistently outstanding. Those listeners concerned about Jarrett's tendency to "sing along" with his piano have little to fear for, other than occasional shouts and sighs, he wisely lets his piano do the talking. ~ Scott Yanow

  • Critic Reviews
    Entertainment Weekly (1/12/96, p.57) - "...Maudlin yet lyrical, reverent yet free spirited, pianist Jarrett at 50 is at the peak of his game, and this trio, with drummer Jack DeJohnette and bassist Gary Peacock, is a unified organism, breathing new life into familiar jazz standards....May well be 1995's finest jazz release." - Rating: A+
    Down Beat (12/95, p.70) - 5 Stars - Excellent - "...Very rarely has so much transcendent piano trio music from a moment in time been gathered in one place....Jarrett's trio has now achieved a level of intuitive interaction with few precedents in the history of jazz..."
    Musician (11/95, pp.92-94) - "...sets the standard for standards....It's a gourmet almost an oxymoron. Listen in small doses; it goes down better....Where most bands build their solos on a rhythm groove, Jarrett constructs a melodic groove from which the rhythm grows..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $68.00
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for