CD Live at Dana Point 1957 (CD 892776),
back to browsing

Live at Dana Point 1957

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Things I Love, The
    2. Dahoud
    3. Now's the Time
    4. Billie's Bounce
    5. Body and Soul
    6. Limehouse Blues
    7. Love Is Here to Stay
    8. I've Got You Under My Skin
    9. Once in Awhile
    10. Night and Day
    0. DISC 2:
    1. My Little Suede Shoes
    2. Darn That Dream
    3. After You've Gone
    4. Easy to Love
    5. 'S Wonderful
    6. Tea for Two
    7. Song Is You, The
    8. Way You Look Tonight, The
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 112

  • Credits

    Warne Marsh Quartet: Von Whitlock (double bass); Red Martinson (drums); Joe Albany, Warne Marsh.
    Personnel: Warne Marsh (tenor saxophone); Joe Albany (piano).
    Liner Note Author: Safford Chamberlain.
    Recording information: Dana Point, CA (10/07/1957).
    Photographer: William Claxton.
    Joe Albany, a talented but troubled bop pianist, made some recordings in the late '40s and then was rarely heard on records again until the 1970s. Until now, the one exception was a rehearsal session with tenor saxophonist Warne Marsh that came out as The Right Combination. The music on Live at Dana Point 1957, a two-CD set, was taped at the gig that occurred after The Right Combination rehearsal and it was sitting unknown and unlisted on some reel-to-reel tapes in the possession of Marsh's widow for decades. The recording quality is listenable -- if just adequate -- but the historic nature of the music overcomes the technical deficiencies. The cool-toned Marsh is in excellent form, jamming on 18 standards. Albany has a lot of short solos and bassist Bob Whitlock and drummer Red Martinson are steady in support. Although not quite essential, fans of the always-searching Marsh, Albany, and West Coast jazz in general will find this music quite stimulating. ~ Scott Yanow

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $22.05
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for