CD Live at the Fillmore East, March 7, 1970: It's About That Time (CD 968601),
back to browsing

Live at the Fillmore East, March 7, 1970: It's About That Time

  • 0. DISC 1: FIRST SET:
    1. Directions
    2. Spanish Key
    3. Masqualero
    4. It's About That Time / The Theme
    0. DISC 2: SECOND SET:
    1. Directions
    2. Miles Runs the Voodoo Down
    3. Bitches Brew
    4. Spanish Key
    5. It's About That Time / Willie Nelson
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 85191

  • Credits
    EngineerStanley Tonkel

    All tracks have been previously unreleased.
    Personnel: Miles Davis (trumpet); Wayne Shorter (soprano & tenor saxophones); Dave Holland (acoustic & electric basses); Chick Corea (Fender Rhodes piano); Jack DeJohnette (drums); Airto Moreira (percussion).
    Producer: Teo Macero.
    Reissue producer: Bob Belden.
    Recorded at The Fillmore East, New York, New York on March 7, 1970. Includes liner notes by James Isaacs.
    Digitally remastered by Mark Wilder & Seth Foster (Sony Music Studios, New York, New York).
    The creative vision of Miles Davis was at its most mercurial in the late '60s and early '70s. He advanced the language of jazz (and pop) not just with each album, but practically with each gig. A perfect case in point is this live two-disc set. LIVE AT THE FILLMORE EAST is like manna from heaven for Miles fans, its nine cuts all previously unreleased performances from a formation of Miles's band that didn't stabilize long enough for a studio release. A considerably different version of this band had recorded the groundbreaking BITCHES BREW not much more than six months before this Fillmore appearance, but the record released as AT THE FILLMORE in 1971, featured yet another incarnation, sans Wayne Shorter, whose last gig with Miles is captured here.
    Accordingly, this release finds Davis and cohorts in transition between the abstract jazz-rock of BITCHES BREW and the funkified, modal jams of subsequent recordings. The two sets documented here draw largely from BITCHES BREW, but the variations just a few months down the line are startling. Chick Corea's ring-modulated electric piano creates a Stockhausen-like maelstrom of sound, while Shorter plays some of the most daring, freewheeling solos of his career. Dave Holland splits the difference between funk, rock, and jazz, joining with Jack DeJohnette's roiling drums to forge a tumbling sonic carnival ride. The entire band blazes through every tune working on all cylinders, making a monstrously joyful noise by which the rest of us are still edified, even decades after the fact.

  • Critic Reviews
    Spin (12/01, p.154) - 9 out of 10 - "...This is some of the fiercest, freest playing he ever did..."
    Uncut (11/01, p.108) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...This gig is chiefly of historical interest, showing Miles' music in a hitherto undocumented moment of transition....There's much to admire, with some irresistibly exciting passages along the way..."
    CMJ (8/01, p.79) - "...Music this sprawlingly beautiful is its own reward..."
    JazzTimes (10/01, pp.92-3) - "...It shatters the myth that a primary motivation for Davis' musical decisions was that his skills were eroding..."
    Vibe (9/01, p.240) - 4 discs out of 5 - "...Relentless torents of molten notes..."
    Mojo (Publisher) (10/01, p.120) - "...It's the remarkable sound of great young musicians playing out of their skins..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $17.92
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for