CD Look Ahead [Gerald Veasley] (CD 176265),
back to browsing

Look Ahead [Gerald Veasley]

  • 1. Fanfare
    2. Fly Spy
    3. Six P.M.
    4. Country Preacher
    5. Just a Word
    6. Prayer I
    7. Alegria (Joy)
    8. Heaven in Your Eyes
    9. Sweet Mary
    10. Shango
    11. Fool's Lullaby
    12. Dream, The
    13. Prayer II
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 3016

  • Credits

    Personnel: Gerald Veasley (bass, keyboards); Spencer Harrison, Devon Pettet, Armsted Christian (vocals); Grover Washington, Jr. (saxophone); E.J. Yellen (soprano & tenor saxophones); Kenny Blake (alto saxophone); John Blake (violin); Onaje Alan Gumbs (piano); Mark Knox (keyboards); Jorge Zawinul (keyboards, Korg Pepe); Randy Bowland (guitar); Omar Hakim, Mike Baker, Darryl Burgee (drums); John Anthony (drums, drum programming); Robert Thomas, Jr. (hand drums); Leonard "Doc" Gibbs (percussion); Kevin James (drum programming); Andre Jackson, Donna Natson, Rob Durant (background vocals).
    Gerald Veasley, an in-demand bassist for dozens of artists (amidst lengthy periods with Grover Washington, Jr. and the Zawinul Syndicate), finally debuted as a leader with 1992's Look Ahead. Veasley welcomed both Washington and Zawinul on single tracks, Zawinul's feature being one of his best-known compositions, "Country Preacher." Elsewhere, Veasley works with varying lineups usually anchored by keyboard player Mark Knox, who detracts slightly from the jazz flavor of the date, though his keys do add atmosphere to several tracks. Veasley's spry six-string bass is heard best on "Fly Spy" (with Washington), though the most enjoyable cut on the record is the '70s funk throwback "Sweet Mary." ~ John Bush

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $19.06
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for