CD Lookin' Good: Getting Some Fun Out of Life/Let's Eat Home (CD 106492),
back to browsing

Lookin' Good: Getting Some Fun Out of Life/Let's Eat Home

    1. Lotus Blosson
    2. I Would Do Anything for You
    3. Stevedore Stomp
    4. Violet Blue
    5. Old Man Harlem
    6. Dear Bix
    7. Save It, Pretty Mama
    8. Alligator Crawl
    9. In a Mist
    10. Wonderful One
    11. Getting Some Fun Out of Life
    12. King Porter Stomp
    0. DISC 2: LET'S EAT HOME:
    1. Brenda Starr
    2. Let's Eat Home
    3. Al Cohn Medley: From a to Z/Tears by Me Out the Heart/Tasty Pudding: From A To Z / Tears By Me Out The Heart / Tasty Pudding / Blues For The Highbrow / Mr. George
    4. Matty
    5. Mooche, The
    6. I Was Ready
    7. Strange Music (From "Song of Norway") - (from "Song Of Norway")
    8. Billy Strayhorn Medley: Take the "A" Train/Lotus Blossom/Raincheck: Take The "A" Train / Lotus Blossom / Raincheck / A Flower Is A Lovesome Thing / Johnny Come Lately / Something To Live For
    9. Ship Without a Sail, A
    10. Lookin' Good
    11. Underdog, The
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 4998

  • Credits
    ProducerDave Frishberg; Nick Phillips; Carl Jefferson; Carl E. Jefferson; Dave Frishberg; Nick Phillips; Nick Phillips (Reissue)
    EngineerDavid J. Holman; Jim Mooney; Larry Levine; Brian Gardner

    LOOKIN' GOOD contains 2 original LPs on 2 CDs: GETTING SOME FUN OUT OF LIFE (1977)/LET'S EAT HOME (1989).
    Personnel: Dave Frishberg (vocals, piano); Dave Frishberg; Jim Hughart, Larry Gales (double bass); Marshall Royal (alto saxophone); Snooky Young, Bob Findley (trumpet); Rob McConnell (valve trombone); Jeff Hamilton , Steve Schaeffer (drums).
    Liner Note Authors: Philip Elwood; Stuart Troup.
    Recording information: Gold Star Recording, Hollywood, CA; Sage & Sound, Hollywood, CA; United; Western Studios, Hollywood, CA.
    Arranger: Dave Frishberg.
    This two-CD set by Dave Frishberg in Concord's budget series combines two complete releases, Getting Some Fun Out of Life and Let's Eat Home. Disc one features the singing pianist in a mix of traditional jazz, stride, and swing, in a quintet that includes alto saxophonist Marshall Royal and a fine yet unheralded veteran of many studio sessions, trumpeter Bob Findley. Frishberg's take of "Sweet Lotus Blossom" is sweet and slow, followed by a peppy "I Would Do Anything for You." He delves into the Duke Ellington songbook with two overlooked gems, Ellington's snappy miniature "Stevedore Stomp" and Billy Strayhorn's richly textured "Violet Blue," highlighted by Frishberg's sparse piano and the gorgeous playing of Royal. The pianist does justice to solo interpretations of Fats Waller's "Alligator Crawl" and Jelly Roll Morton's playful rag "King Porter Stomp." Only one Frishberg original is present, his warm tribute "Dear Bix," in which he honors the tragically short-lived cornetist with an almost conversational vocal; a buoyant solo version of Beiderbecke's "In a Mist" is a nice bonus. The second disc is also primarily a quintet session, with valve trombonist Rob McConnell and trumpeter Snooky Young prominently featured. Frishberg's songwriting is more in evidence with his campy lyrics to Johnny Mandel's "Brenda Starr" and with "Matty," his heartfelt tribute to early baseball great Christy Matthewson, but the whimsical lyrics to "Let's Eat Home" and his hysterical lines in "I Was Ready" and "Lookin' Good" will be of interest to those who favor Frishberg's unique blend of jazz and comedy. He also salutes his late friend Al Cohn and Billy Strayhorn with inventive medleys, and delivers a powerful solo version of Duke Ellington's "The Mooche" as well. This two-CD set will be hard for most jazz fans to pass up, especially with the attractive price. ~ Ken Dryden

  • Critic Reviews
    Mojo (Publisher) (3/02, p.124) - "...Frishberg is a treasure. The delicate balance of jazz and song is perfectly matched by his tone, a unique blend of the hip and the touching....this release mops up a pair of gems..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $8.43
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for