CD Message/Desert Winds (CD 4575286),
back to browsing

Message/Desert Winds

  • 1. Message, The
    2. Wild Man
    3. Bassoon Blues
    4. On Broadway
    5. Like Young
    6. Turnpike
    7. Bonita
    8. When My Dreamboat Comes Home
    9. Desert Winds
    10. Star Eyes
    11. Blues for the Early Bird
    12. Lester Leaps In
    13. You're My Thrill
    14. Canadian Sunset
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): LHJ 10230

  • Credits

    Personnel: Illinois Jacquet (bassoon, tenor saxophone); Kenny Burrell, Wally Richardson (guitar); Tommy Flanagan (piano); Ralph Smith (organ); Ray Lucas (drums); Willie Rodriguez (percussion).
    Liner Note Authors: Allan Morrison; Arthur Kramer.
    Recording information: New York, NY (05/07/1963-02/13/1964); Nj (05/07/1963-02/13/1964).
    Authors: Dorothy Donegan; Roy Eldridge.
    Editor: Arthur Kramer.
    This rather brief LP (just 31 minutes) finds tenorman Illinois Jacquet in typically fine form, but fronting a rather anonymous-sounding group (despite the presence of guitarist Kenny Burrell on some numbers) that includes organist Ralph Smith and a Latin percussionist. Most interesting is "Bassoon Blues" which has Jacquet's recorded debut on that instrument. Although "Wild Man" and "Turnpike" are heated, this is only an average outing overall. ~ Scott Yanow

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $17.13
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for