CD Michael Gibbs/Tanglewood '63 (CD 993113),
back to browsing

Michael Gibbs/Tanglewood '63

    1. Family Joy. Oh Boy!
    2. Dome Echoes, Some Shadows (For John Danworth)
    3. Liturgy
    4. Feelings and Things
    5. Sweet Rain (For Stan Getz)
    6. Nowhere (For Bob Moses)
    7. Throb
    8. And on the Third Day (For Gary Burton)
    0. DISC 2: TANGLEWOOD 63:
    1. Tanglewood 63
    2. Fanfare
    3. Sojourn
    4. Canticle
    5. Five For England
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 4253

  • Credits

    2 LPs on 2 CDs: MICHAEL GIBBS (1970)/TANGLEWOOD 63 (1971).
    Composer: Michael Gibbs.
    Personnel: Chris Spedding (guitar, bass guitar); Ray Russell (guitar); Alan Skidmore (flute, soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone); John Surman (soprano saxophone, baritone saxophone); Ray Warleigh (alto saxophone); Kenny Wheeler (flugelhorn); Chris Pyne (trombone); Gordon Beck (electric piano); Jack Bruce (bass guitar); John Marshall , Tony Oxley (drums).
    Michael Gibbs/Tanglewood '63 assembles arranger Michael Gibbs classic LPs for the Deram label. If Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band had actually existed -- a sprawling, Nehru-jacketed psychedelic orchestra come to life -- their music would have undoubtedly sounded exactly like Gibbs' self-titled Deram debut. Recorded with British crossover titans including guitarist Chris Spedding, trumpeter Kenny Wheeler and electric pianist Gordon Beck, the album was a seminal turning point in the history of U.K. jazz-rock, embracing avant-garde-inspired brass passages, electrifying guitar solos, and thunderous yet funky rhythms to create music entirely of its time but distinctly out of time as well. And for all its post-Hendrix sound and spirit, Michael Gibbs still retains the soulfulness of conventional jazz -- the music speaks to the body as loudly as it does the intellect. Tanglewood '63 is even better, vividly majestic music of remarkable scope and energy -- Gibbs' ingenious arrangements suggest a pop-art incarnation of a traditional big band. Assembled from blistering guitar riffage, fiery brass and deeply idiosyncratic rhythms, Tanglewood '63 is most impressive for the tactile sumptuousness of Gibbs' sound -- the music boasts as many tints and textures as a Pantone Color Guide. ~ Jason Ankeny

  • Critic Reviews
    Down Beat (p.77) - 4 stars out of 5 - "Gibbs' gift for melody is as powerful as his talent for complex orchestration..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $20.21
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for