CD Milestone Profiles: Sonny Rollins (CD 1101387),
back to browsing

Milestone Profiles: Sonny Rollins

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Autumn Nocturne - (live)
    2. Duke of Iron
    3. Tennessee Waltz
    4. Where or When
    5. Skylark
    6. Global Warming
    7. Moon of Manakoora, The
    8. Biji
    9. Why Was I Born?
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Kicker, The
    2. Song for My Lady
    3. Dindi
    4. St. Thomas
    5. I'm Old Fashioned
    6. One Mint Julep
    7. No Doubt About It
    8. I Thought About You
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 30023

  • Credits
    ProducerLucille Rollins; Orrin Keepnews; Sonny Rollins; Nick Phillips (Compilation)

    Includes bonus sampler.
    1. The Kicker - Joe Henderson
    2. Song For My Lady - McCoy Tyner
    3. Dindi - Flora Purim
    4. St. Thomas - Ron Carter Duo/Jim Hall
    5. I'm Old Fashioned - Sonny Rollins
    6. One Mint Julep - Jimmy McGriff & Hank Crawford Quartet
    7. No Doubt About It - Jimmy Smith
    8. I Thought About You - Jimmy Scott
    Personnel: Sonny Rollins (tenor saxophone); Jerome Harris (electric guitar, electric bass); Aurell Ray (electric 12-string guitar); Clifton Anderson (trombone); Stephen Scott (piano, kalimba); George Cables, Mark Soskin, Tommy Flanagan (piano); Bob Cranshaw (electric bass); Tony Ruption Williams , David Lee , Jack DeJohnette, Al Foster, Marvin "Smitty" Smith, Perry Wilson (drums); Victor See-Yuen (percussion).
    Audio Remasterer: George Horn.
    Liner Note Author: Neil Tesser.
    Photographer: Phil Bray.
    Many Sonny Rollins compilations focus on his work from the 1950s and '60s, which is a shame given that Rollins continued to produce interesting, innovative work all through the '70s, '80s, '90s, and beyond. The saxophone legend recorded off and on for the Milestone label during those decades, and this PROFILES set collects work made between the early '70s and 2000.
    Rollins not only maintains his superior standards as a composer and improviser on these cuts, but he also shows himself to be an adventurous arranger, as many of the cuts employ electric instrumentation and auxiliary percussion. Full of great, definition-testing music, PROFILES is a great way to sample the lesser known part of Rollins's prolific career. A bonus disc containing selections from other PROFILES discs (including work from McCoy Tyner, Jimmy Smith, and Joe Henderson, among others) sweetens the deal.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $11.14
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for