CD Mose Allison (CD 1160676),
back to browsing

Mose Allison

  • 1. New Ground
    2. Train
    3. Warm Night
    4. Young Man's Blues
    5. Saturday
    6. Scamper
    7. January
    8. Promised Land
    9. Spring Song
    10. Highway 49
    11. Blueberry Hill
    12. You Won't Let Me Go
    13. I Thought About You
    14. One Room Country Shack
    15. In Salah
    16. Parchman Farm
    17. Carnival
    18. Crepuscular Air
    19. Mojo Woman
    20. Town
    21. Trouble in Mind
    22. Lost Mind
    23. I'll Never Be Free
    24. Don't Ever Say Goodbye
    25. Ain't You a Mess
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): PRCD-24002

  • Credits

    Personnel: Mose Allison (vocals, trumpet, piano); Taylor La Fargue, Addison Farmer (bass instrument); Frank Isola, Nick Stabulas (drums).
    This two-LP set has the complete contents of Mose Allison's first two albums: Back Country Suite and Local Color. The former session is dominated by the interesting ten-song "Back Country Suite" but is most memorable for Allison's brief vocals on "Young Man Blues" (here called "Blue Blues") and "One Room Country Shack." While the earlier date has bassist Taylor LaFargue and drummer Frank Isola completing the trio, Local Color finds Allison interacting musically with bassist Addison Farmer and drummer Nick Stabulas and talking a very rare trumpet solo on "Trouble in Mind." However, once again it is Mose's two vocals (on "Lost Mind" and the classic "Parchman Farm") that are the standouts; it seems obvious that his future lay in being a singer who plays piano rather than the other way around. ~ Scott Yanow

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $13.36
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for