CD New Grass [Digipak] (CD 867907),
back to browsing

New Grass [Digipak]

  • 1. New Grass/Message From Albert
    2. New Generation
    3. Sun Watcher
    4. New Ghosts
    5. Heart Love
    6. Everybody's Movin'
    7. Free at Last
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 0004269

  • Credits
    ProducerBob Thiele

    Personnel: Albert Ayler (vocals, tenor saxophone); The Soul Singers (vocals); Seldon Powell (flute, tenor saxophone); Buddy Lucas (baritone saxophone); Joe Newman , Burt Collins (trumpet); Garnett Brown (trombone); Call Cobbs (piano, electric harpsichord, organ); Bill Folwell (bass guitar); Bernard "Pretty" Purdie (drums).
    Appearing for the first time on CD in 2005, NEW GRASS is a clear appeal by Albert Ayler for greater commercial accessibility. The album finds him riding familiar R&B grooves, using soulful lead and backup vocals, and in general employing a cleaner, less frenetic sound. Fans of the saxophonist's more radical albums may be taken aback here, but Ayler's yearning, exploratory sax lines are still highly energized (especially on the opening cut), and NEW GRASS proves a good place for listeners who are new to free jazz to familiarize themselves with Ayler's unique style.

  • Critic Reviews
    Mojo (Publisher) (p.p.142) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[M]uch of the music is joyous and steeped in the raw blues and gospel sounds that shaped the saxophonists's early years. Worth revisiting."
0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $11.98
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for