CD Non-Cognitive Aspects of the City: Live at Iridium (CD 1006729),
back to browsing

Non-Cognitive Aspects of the City: Live at Iridium

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Song For My Sister
    2. Morning Mist, The
    3. Song For Charles
    4. On The Mountain
    5. Big Red Peaches
    6. Odwalla
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Erika
    2. Malachi
    3. J Song, The
    4. Red Sand Green Water
    5. Slow Tenor And Bass
    6. Odwalla
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): PI20

  • Credits
    ProducerArt Ensemble Of Chicago

    The Art Ensemble of Chicago: Joseph Jarman (vocals, flute, bass flute, sopranino saxophone, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone, percussion); Roscoe Mitchell (flute, piccolo, sopranino saxophone, soprano saxophone, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone, percussion); Corey Wilkes (trumpet, pocket trumpet, flugelhorn, percussion); Jaribu Shahid (bass instrument, electric bass, percussion); Don Moye (drums, congas).
    Personnel: Joseph Jarman (trumpet, flugelhorn); Don Moye (drum, conga drum, bongos).
    NON-COGNITIVE ASPECTS OF THE CITY, recorded live at the Iridium in New York City in 2006, proves that nearly four decades into its existence the Art Ensemble of Chicago still has plenty of tricks up its sleeve. Across 12 extended tracks covering two discs, the Ensemble serve up their combination of free abstraction, post-bop melodicism, and African tribal rhythms, all of which are brought together with a sense of wit and intelligence that has given the group one of the longest life spans of anyone in avant-garde jazz. This engaging live set proves the AEC's music will remain vibrant and relevant for years to come.

  • Critic Reviews
    The Wire (p.49) - "Jaribu Shahid locks in well with drummer Moye, keeping the group swinging through these two hour long 2005 concerts."
    Down Beat (p.84) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "The two sets find the band in the control of Roscoe Mitchell: seven of the 11 pieces are his, and he shapes large chunks of the three collaborative improvisations. It's a varied program..."
    JazzTimes (p.91) - "[E]ven the inevitable bang-on-a-hubcap tomfoolery has an almost ambient effect, as if Mitchell and Co. realize that their transgressions are now tradition -- and should come across as such."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $20.67
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for