CD One4J: Paying Homage to J.J. Johnson (CD 634256),
back to browsing

One4J: Paying Homage to J.J. Johnson

  • 1. Overdrive
    2. Wee Dot
    3. Lament
    4. One 4 J
    5. Mr. Johnson
    6. Short Cake
    7. Kelo
    8. What Is This Thing Called Love?
    9. Camino Real, El
    10. Enigma
    11. Minor Blues
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 83555

  • Credits
    ProducerMyles Weinstein; Steve Turre
    EngineerRobert Friedrich

    Personnel: Steve Turre, Robin Eubanks, Joe Alessi, Steve Davis, Andre Heyward, Douglas Purviance (trombone); Stephen Scott, Renee Rosnes (piano); Peter Washington (bass); Victor Lewis (drums); Abou M'Boup (African percussion).
    Includes liner notes by Steve Turre.
    Personnel: Steve Turre (trombone, bass trombone); Joseph Alessi (trombone, bass trombone, natural horn); Steve Davis , Douglas Purviance, Andre Hayward (trombone, bass trombone); Robin Eubanks (trombone); Renee Rosnes, Stephen Scott (piano); Victor Lewis (drums).
    Audio Mixer: Robert Friedrich.
    Liner Note Author: Steve Turre.
    Recording information: Avatar Studio C, New York, NY (05/20/2002/05/21/2002).
    Photographers: Jack Frisch; Jimmy Katz.
    Arrangers: Earl McIntyre; Robin Eubanks; Slide Hampton; Steve Turre.
    Leaving his conch shells -- and more offbeat ideas -- home this time, Steve Turre's motive for this release was to honor the fountainhead of bop (and thus, modern jazz) trombone, J.J. Johnson, who had tragically taken his own life in 2001 in the face of a terminal illness. In doing so, Turre loads his front line with nothing but trombones -- as many as six, but usually fewer. Besides himself, the other trombonists on the album are Robin Eubanks, Steve Davis, Andre Hayward, Douglas Purviance, and New York Philharmonic principal trombonist Joe Alessi (who also plays good jazz). It's a fairly conservative recording by Turre's standards, with an emphasis mostly on the straight-ahead bop that Johnson championed. Indeed, many of the duo-trombone charts sound like latter-day echoes of the famous K and J.J. (Kai Winding/J.J. Johnson) records of the 1950s and '60s. But there are, thankfully, exceptions to the pattern as the disc unfolds -- which is only right since Johnson himself displayed an experimental streak away from bop now and then. "Mr. Johnson," penned by Harold Mabern when he was Lee Morgan's pianist and not unrelated to Morgan's own "Mr. Kenyatta," switches to a modal vamp; "Kelo" is treated to a mild yet unmistakable funk backbeat; and "Wee Dot" is a blues jam with a difference, modulating up the scale in five different keys just to give everyone a challenge. Turre also borrows Slide Hampton's full-sounding, infinitely subtle four-trombone chart of "Lament" and adds Senegalese percussionist Abdou Mboup to drive "Minor Blues." Ultimately it is Turre who makes the most individual impression among the soloists, particularly in his quirkier moods on plunger ("Kelo") and with a Harmon mute ("El Camino Real"). Pianist Stephen Scott, bassist Peter Washington, and drummer Victor Lewis comprise the standard-issue rhythm section. Turre's liner notes for each track are so detailed -- a virtual play-by-play -- that you almost don't have to hear the CD in order to know what's on it. But do hear it anyway. ~ Richard S. Ginell

  • Critic Reviews
    JazzTimes (4/03, p.100) - "...It is a trombone showcase, but pianist Scott's solos, dancing with vitality, are among the CD's best..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $10.07
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for