CD Only the Best of Dave Brubeck (CD 4336570),
back to browsing

Only the Best of Dave Brubeck

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Prelude Merciful Men Are Taken Away
    2. Truth Is Fallen
    3. Oh That My Head Were Waters/Speak Out/I Called & No One Answered
    4. Yea Truth Faileth Truth (Planets Are Spinning)
    5. Is The Lords Hand Shortened? Arise!
    6. Mr. Broadway
    7. Forty Days
    8. Duke, The
    9. It's A Raggy Waltz
    10. Sky Scape
    11. Temptation Boogie
    12. Ragaroni
    13. Christopher Columbus
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Like Someone In Love
    2. In Your Own Sweet Way
    3. All The Things You Are
    4. Jimmy Van Heusen Medley
    5. Don't Get Around Much Anymore
    0. DISC 3:
    1. Introduction By Father Norman O' Connor
    2. Blues For Newport
    3. Take Five
    4. Open The Gates (Out Of The Way Of The People)
    0. DISC 4:
    1. Take Five
    2. Blue Rondo A La Turk
    3. Unsqurae Dance
    4. Out Of Nowhere
    5. Somewhere
    6. There'll Be Some Changes Made
    7. You Go To My Head
    8. Besame Mucho
    9. Win A Few, Lose A Few
    10. Forty Days
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 1118

  • Credits

    ONLY THE BEST OF DAVE BRUBECK contains five albums in their entirety: ON TIME (a compilation album issued near the end of the pianist's tenure with Columbia Records) and four Atlantic sets from the 1970s: ALL THE THINGS YOU ARE, TRUTH IS FALLEN, TWO GENERATIONS OF BRUBECK, and LAST SET AT NEWPORT. These sides do reveal Brubeck himself at a kind of creative peak, but not necessarily in the best musical company. Not that the music contained here isn't enjoyable and at times even brilliant; it's simply not as awe-inspiring as the sides he cut in the '40s, '50s, and early '60s.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $39.89
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for