CD Passion Dance [Remaster] (CD 194708),
back to browsing

Passion Dance [Remaster]

  • 1. Moment's Notice
    2. Passion Dance
    3. Search for Peace
    4. Promise, The
    5. Song of the New World
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 1107

  • Credits
    ProducerEd Michel; Ed Michel
    EngineerJim Stern; Jim Stern

    Personnel: McCoy Tyner (piano); McCoy Tyner; Ron Carter (double bass); Tony Ruption Williams (drums); Tony Williams (drums).
    Audio Remasterer: Joe Tarantino.
    Audio Remixer: Jim Stern.
    Recording information: Denen Coliseum, Tokoyo, Japan (07/28/1978).
    Illustrator: Zand Gee.
    Recorded in 1978 at Tokyo's Live Under the Sky festival. PASSION DANCE presents McCoy Tyner in top form. On two out of five tracks, the jazz pianist is accompanied by bassist Ron Carter and drummer Tony Williams, who lay down a foundation of percolating rhythms that Tyner can deftly glide across. The interplay between the three revered musicians is nothing short of stunning, particularly on the energetic opening rendition of John Coltrane's "Moment's Notice." Equally notable, though, are Tyner's solo performances, especially on the nearly 12-minute title track, which allows him to balance buoyantly melodic lines with complex improvised passages. This remastered 2005 release marks the concert album's first time on CD.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $10.40
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for