CD Pool (CD 987138),
back to browsing


  • 1. Pool
    2. Pool
    3. Pool
    4. Pool
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 73163

  • Credits
    EngineerAlan Fierstein

    Personnel: John Zorn (clarinet, soprano saxophone, alto saxophone, sound effects); Eugene Chadbourne (guitar); Polly Bradfield (violin); Wayne Horvitz (electric piano); Bob Ostertag (synthesizer, electronics); Marcus Miller (vibraphone, percussion); Charles K. Noyes (percussion, musical saw).
    Liner Note Author: John Zorn .
    Recording information: Sorceror Sound, NYC, NY, Unites States (03/01/1980/03/04/1980).
    John Zorn first began developing his game-based ideas in 1974 -- which focused on relations between individual musicians, rather than on notes -- inspired by the works of such modern composers as Anthony Braxton, Mauricio Kagel, Karlheinz Stockhausen, and Christian Wolff. Pool was written in March, 1979 while Zorn was working on Archery. The recording included here took place one year later with musicians Zorn, Polly Bradfield, Bob Ostertag, Mark E. Miller, Charles K. Noyes, and prompter Lesli Dalaba. Dedicated fans should check this out, as it is part of the early annals of Zorn. Listeners with less patience for music theory -- and Zorn skeptics -- should save Pool for later, because it will not win anyone over; nor will the compositional theories become more clear upon listening. Essentially, Pool has more historical value than listening interest. ~ Joslyn Layne

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $15.40
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for