CD Remember Shakti (CD 989808),
back to browsing

Remember Shakti

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Chandrakauns
    2. Wish, The
    3. Lotus Feet
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Mukti
    2. Zakir
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 559945

  • Credits
    ProducerJohn McLaughlin
    EngineerSven Hoffman

    Personnel: John McLaughlin (guitar); Hariprasad Chaurasia (bansuri); T.H. "Vikku" Vinayakram (ghatam); Zakir Hussain (tabla).
    Recorded live at Queen Elizabeth Hall, Oldham, England on September 24, 1997; Royal Festival Hall, London, England on September 25, 1997; Symphony Hall, Birmingham, England on September 26, 1997; Turner Sims Concert Hall, Southampton, England on September 27, 1997.
    This Limited Edition deluxe satin box contains the previously released 2-disc set REMEMBER SHAKTI, REMEMBER SHAKTI-THE BELIEVER and SATURDAY NIGHT IN BOMBAY. It also contains a disc of previously unreleased music from the SATURDAY NIGHT IN BOMBAY concert as well as a DVD video disc from the same performance.
    Personnel includes: John McLaughlin (guitar); Shankar Mahadevan (vocals); Debashish Bhattacharya (Hindustani slide guitar); U. Shrinivas (mandolin); Shiv Kurmar Shauma (santur); Uma Metha (tanpura); Hariprasad Chaurasia (bansuri); Sivamani (drums, percussion); Bhavani Shankar (dholak, pakhwaj); Roshan Ali, Aziz (dholak); Taufiq Quresh (def); Zakir Hussain (tabla); V. Selvaganesh (kanjira, ghatam, mridangam); T.H. Vikku (ghatam); A.K. Pallanival (tavil).
    Recorded during tours in the United Kingdom, Europe and Bombay, India in 1997, 1999 and 2000. Includes liner notes by Zakir Hussain and John McLaughlin.
    Personnel: John McLaughlin (guitar, synthesizer); Hariprasad Chaurasia (bansuri); Zakir Hussain (tabla).
    Audio Mixer: Max Costa.
    Recording information: Queen Elizabeth Hall, Oldham, Lancashire, England (09/24/1997-09/27/1997); Royal Festival Hall, London, England (09/24/1997-09/27/1997); Symphony Hall, Birmingham, England (09/24/1997-09/27/1997); Turner Sims (09/24/1997-09/27/1997).
    These collaborations between guitarist John McLaughlin and Shakti, a collective of Indian and Pakistani musicians, is one of the more interesting and successful East-meets-West experiments. Since the early '70s, McLaughlin and the members of Shakti have been working together off and on, in various combinations, with the guitarist integrating his electrified Gibson soloing into the musicians' indigenous sonic atmospheres.
    In 1997, McLaughlin joined tabla player Kakir Hussain and ghatam player T.H. Vinayakram for a tour of the U.K. The results are recorded on this two-disc set. The group is also graced by the presence of bansuri master Hariprasad Chaurasia, whose gorgeous composition "Chandrakauns" opens the program and is arguably the highlight. Elsewhere, extended improvisations ("Mukti" is over an hour long) shift between intense rhythmic interplay and ethereal instrumental journeying. Taken as a whole, the sounds of REMEMBER SHAKTI are intriguing, meditative, and often startlingly beautiful.

  • Critic Reviews
    Entertainment Weekly (4/16/99, p.61) - "...Five live extended tracks spread over two CDs capture the odd but empathetic link between McLaughlin, tabla virtuouso Zakir Hussain, ghatam player T.H. Vinayarkram, and noted bansuri flutist Hari Prasad Chaurasia, as they explore uncommon common ground."
    - Rating: A-
    The Wire (5/99, p.59) - "...these recordings were taken performances, and capture their reflectiveness and unhurried virtuosity..."
    Guitar Magazine (4/99, pp.98-9) - "...some of the most intense improvisation you'll ever hear..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $24.19
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for