CD Roots [Sean Jones] [CD] [1 disc] (CD 891147),
back to browsing

Roots [Sean Jones] [CD] [1 disc]

  • 1. Children's Hymn
    2. Roots
    3. Divine Inspiration
    4. God's Gift
    5. Come Sunday
    6. Lift Every Voice
    7. Offering Time
    8. Conversations
    9. Soul, El
    10. Puddin' Time
    11. What We Have
    12. John 3:16
    13. I Need Thee
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 1031

  • Credits
    ProducerAl Pryor
    EngineerDon Murray

    Personnel: Sean Jones (trumpet, flugelhorn); Orrin Evans (piano, Fender Rhodes piano, keyboards); Eddie Howard, Jr. (organ); Jerome Jennings, Obed Calvaire (drums).
    Audio Mixer: Don Murray .
    Liner Note Author: Gretchen Carhartt Valade.
    Recording information: Avatar Studios, New York, NY.
    Photographer: Curtis McElhinney.
    Arranger: Orrin Evans.
    Sean Jones is potentially a powerful trumpeter, but on this set he emphasizes his lyrical side. The music is influenced by his religious beliefs yet this is an instrumental set and most of the songs are originals. The only recognizable melody from the past is Duke Ellington's "Come Sunday." There is an incomplete feel to the performances and one finds themselves waiting for something unusual to happen, an explosion of passion or some excitement. It never does happen and, although the playing is heartfelt and quite musical, Roots never becomes particularly memorable. The music is pleasing but largely uneventful. ~ Scott Yanow

  • Critic Reviews
    JazzTimes (p.101) - "[T]his album is most winning as a warm, heartfelt, all-of-a-piece jazz mood of faith and creativity."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $16.76
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for