CD SONGBOOK [Vic Juris] [CD] [1 disc] (CD 1197642),
back to browsing

SONGBOOK [Vic Juris] [CD] [1 disc]

  • 1. I Didn't Know What Time It Was
    2. Billie's Bounce
    3. I Won't Dance
    4. Luiza
    5. All the Things You Are
    6. Touch Me Lightly
    7. Nuages
    8. Moment to Moment
    9. Time Remembered
    10. Songbook
    11. Milestones
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): SCCD 31483

  • Credits
    ProducerNils Winther
    EngineerJason Standard

    Personnel: Vic Juris (guitar); Jeff Hirshfield (drums).
    Liner Note Author: Mark Gardner .
    Recording information: 11/1999.
    Photographer: Nils Winther.
    Following up on his ambitious Eric Dolphy tribute, Vic Juris returns to the basics: a straight-ahead guitar trio, playing all standards and jazz classics (save for Juris' title track). Songbook offers an especially clear and sustained look at the artist's approach to standard harmony. His rhythm section players, bassist Jay Anderson and drummer Jeff Hirshfield, give him expert support, as they've done over the course of several albums. Juris sounds decidedly Metheny-esque at times, but he makes even the most visited material his own, particularly "All the Things You Are," played as a duo with Hirshfield. In a new twist, Juris plays nylon-string acoustic guitar on "Luiza" and "Nuages," the latter a breathtaking duet with Anderson. He also offers an unaccompanied steel-string acoustic rendition of Bill Evans' "Time Remembered." This is certainly one of Juris' most representative recordings to date. ~ David R. Adler

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $18.88
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for