CD Salute [Louie Bellson] [CD Boxset] [2 discs] (CD 578729),
back to browsing

Salute [Louie Bellson] [CD Boxset] [2 discs]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Blowin' the Blues Away
    2. Counting Down
    3. And Friends
    4. Satin Doll
    5. For Diz
    6. When You Wish Upon a Star
    7. Tiny Capers
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Salute (Drum Medley)
    2. Drum Boogie
    3. Bouncin' With Buddy
    4. Jumpin' at the Woodside
    5. Liza
    6. Medley
    7. Remembering Six Of The Greatest / Contributions Of The Great Innovators / Those Deserving Greater Recognition / Goodman, Dorsey, James, Ellington, Basie / Selections And Concepts On This CD / Passing It On / Then And Now
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 329

  • Credits
    ProducerAndrew Sordoni

    Personnel includes: Louie Bellson (drums); George Young (tenor saxophone); Bobby Shew (trumpet); Willie Pickens (piano); Keter Betts (bass).
    This two-CD set has its interesting moments. Drummer Louie Bellson and his quintet (which also includes trumpeter Bobby Shew, George Young on tenor, pianist Willie Pickens and bassist Keter Betts) perform seven selections including Horace Silver's "Blowin' the Blues Away," George Young's "For Diz" and "When You Wish Upon a Star." The second CD has a 27-minute medley that pays tribute to drummers Gene Krupa, Buddy Rich, Art Blakey, Jo Jones, Shelly Manne and Chick Webb. In addition there is a nearly 34-minute "Jazzspeak" in which Bellson talks about the drummers, the many bandleaders that he has worked with and a variety of miscellaneous music-related subjects. Although interesting, much of it is probably not worth hearing twice. ~ Scott Yanow

  • Critic Reviews
    JazzTimes (5/96, p.85) - "An ideal gift for drummers, this set presents Bellson as both leader of a highly charged bop combo and as enthusiastic raconteur on a wide variety of subjects, from other drummers to his own varied experiences in the business..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $16.08
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for