CD Sentimental Journey [Lionel Hampton] [CD] [1 disc] (CD 6557986),
back to browsing

Sentimental Journey [Lionel Hampton] [CD] [1 disc]

  • 1. Sentimental Journey
    2. Don't Get Around Much Anymore
    3. Lady Is a Tramp, The
    4. Undecided
    5. It Don't Mean a Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing)
    6. It's All Right With Me
    7. Lullaby of Birdland
    8. Almost Like Being in Love
    9. Avalon
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): CD 81644

  • Credits
    ProducerCharlie Mack; Bill Titone

    Personnel: Lionel Hampton (synthesizer, vibraphone); Sylvia Bennett (vocals); David Schumacher, Douglas Miller, Adam Brenner, Jerry Weldon, Thomas Chapin (saxophone); Vince Cutro, John Pendenza, Al Bryant, Lee Romano (trumpet); Chris Gulhaugen, John Gordon, Robert Trowers, Charles Stephens (trombone); Alan Simon (piano); Rick Visone (drums); Sam Turner (percussion).
    Recording information: Beethoven Studio, New York, NY (03/13/1985/03/14/1985).
    A rather forgettable LP, this set mostly features the okay vocals of Sylvia Bennett on a variety of overplayed swing standards. Lionel Hampton's big band is mostly restricted to background work with occasional short individual spots while Hampton himself is the only soloist on five of the nine selections, including the lone instrumental, "Avalon." The lack of liner notes on this Atlantic LP is surprising since its purpose seemed to be to introduce a new singer. This set can be safely passed by. ~ Scott Yanow

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $12.67
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for