CD Serendipity [Greg Tardy] (CD 142979),
back to browsing

Serendipity [Greg Tardy]

  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): IMP12582

  • Credits

    Personnel: Gregory Tardy (tenor saxophone); Tom Harrell, Russell Gunn (trumpet); Mulgrew Miller, Aaron Goldberg (piano); Reginald Veal (bass); Eric Harland (drums).
    Recorded on September 13 and 14, 1997 at Avatar Studios, New York, New York.
    CD contains 1 bonus track.
    Youngster Gregory Tardy is as fine an example of "Young Lion" proficiency as can be found anywhere. His improviser's mind and composer's pen are a powerful combination, as is evident on SERENDIPITY. Though this tenorist's tone is on the slight side, he more than makes up for it with a tremendous sense of daring and a seemingly insatiable desire to keep things out on the edge. His improvs are always just on the verge of getting too far over the top, but he's always able to gracefully reign them back in and glide to a safe landing. His cast of sidemen, including trumpeters Tom Harrell and Russell Gunn and the great pianist Mulgrew Miller, are right there with him in all the dynamic tugs-of-war.
    Tardy penned six of these nine tracks, a gamble most Young Lions are often fearful to take, and his tunes, such as the raucous "Ah-Lite" and the bop-ish title track, definitely hold their own in style and structure. The old Coleman Hawkins/Ben Webster feature "Prisoner Of Love" is given a pretty duet reading with Miller. SERENDIPITY is no accident; Tardy knows exactly what he's doing.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $10.12
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for