CD Shifting Sands [Bob DeVos] (CD 949493),
back to browsing

Shifting Sands [Bob DeVos]

  • 1. Lost & Found
    2. Medley
    3. Mojave
    4. Shifting Sands
    5. Track & Field
    6. Step Into Spring
    7. But Beautiful
    8. Different Dozen, A
    9. Willow Weep For Me
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 2077

  • Credits
    ProducerBob DeVos

    Personnel: Bob DeVos (guitar); Eric Alexander (saxophone); Dan Kostelnik (Hammond b-3 organ); Steve Johns (drums); Gary Fritz (percussion).
    A veteran of many organ/guitar/drum jazz trios, guitarist Bob DeVos hasn't had a lot of opportunities to record as a leader, but his second Savant CD also allows him to share his abilities as a composer. DeVos is a bluesy, soul-infused player, well accompanied by organist Dan Kostelnik and drummer Steve Johns, and his brisk, rhythmic treatment of Antonio Carlos Jobim's "Mojave" gives it an entirely new character. The guitarist's lyrical "Shifting Sands" has a meditative gospel quality, while "A Different Dozen" puts a new twist on a regular 12-bar blues in an uptempo setting. Tenor saxophonist Eric Alexander, like the leader a veteran of the late Charles Earland's combo, is a special guest on several tracks, highlighted by the funky arrangement of the standard "Willow Weep for Me," which also adds percussionist Gary Fritz. ~ Ken Dryden

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $16.94
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for