CD Shut Yo' Mouth! (CD 106565),
back to browsing

Shut Yo' Mouth!

  • 1. Tomorrow
    2. Close Your Eyes (Shut Yo' Mouth)
    3. Undecided
    4. Misty
    5. I Love You
    6. Would You Like to Take a Walk?
    7. Wrap Your Troubles in Dreams (And Dream Your Troubles Away)
    8. Side by Side
    9. My Blue Heaven
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 1024

  • Credits
    ProducerDick Hyman; Elvin Campbell
    EngineerElvin Campbell

    Personnel: Slam Stewart, Major Holley (bass); Dick Hyman, Oliver Jackson.
    Recorded at Soundtek Studios, New York, New York in 1981. Includes liner notes by Dan Morgenstern.
    Personnel: Major Holley (vocals); Slam Stewart (vocals); Dick Hyman (piano, organ); Oliver Jackson (drums).
    Liner Note Author: Dan Morgenstern.
    Recording information: Soundtek Studio, New York, NY.
    Briefly available as an LP on the PM label shortly before it went out of business, this fun date featuring two bassists best known for singing and playing bass simultaneously, Slam Stewart an octave above and Major Holley in unison with his bass. Both their humor and great playing are readily apparent throughout this release, especially on classics such as "Misty" and "Undecided." The big surprise is "Tomorrow," the obnoxious song from the musical Annie; its amusing facelift makes it tolerable at last. The title track is a takeoff on "Close Your Eyes." Versatile pianist Dick Hyman and solid drummer Oliver Jackson round out this enjoyable session, one of the last jazz albums on Delos before they returned to classical music exclusively. ~ Ken Dryden

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $13.02
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for