CD Simple Pleasure [Vincent Herring] (CD 938484),
back to browsing

Simple Pleasure [Vincent Herring]

  • 1. Loop, The
    2. Once in a Lifetime
    3. Simple Pleasures
    4. Sophia Marie
    5. Rounder's Mood
    6. Sophisticated Lady
    7. Straight Street
    8. Holly's Secret
    9. There Is No Greater Love
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 7084

  • Credits
    ProducerDon Sickler
    EngineerRudy VanGelder

    Personnel: Vincent Herring (alto saxophone); Wallace Roney (trumpet); Mulgrew Miller (piano); Richie Goods (bass); E.J. Strickland (drums).
    Recorded at Van Gelder Recording Studio, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey on March 21, 2001. Includes liner notes by Bill Milkowski.
    Personnel: Vincent Herring (soprano saxophone, alto saxophone); Wallace Roney (trumpet); Mulgrew Miller (piano); E.J. Strickland (drums).
    Audio Mixer: Rudy Van Gelder.
    Liner Note Author: Bill Milkowski.
    Recording information: Van Gelder Studios, Englewood Cliffs, NJ (03/21/2001).
    Photographer: Jimmy Katz.
    Altoist Vincent Herring is in top form throughout the driving bebop/hard bop date Simple Pleasure. Herring, whose tone and style were originally strongly influenced by Cannonball Adderley, has grown into his own sound. Joined by pianist Mulgrew Miller, bassist Richie Goods, drummer E.J. Strickland, and (on four of the nine numbers) trumpeter Wallace Roney, Herring has rarely sounded more fiery and inspired. This is one of his finest recordings to date. ~ Scott Yanow

  • Critic Reviews
    JazzTimes (5/02, p.124) - "...SIMPLE PELASURES offers the listener just that..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $15.79
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for