CD Smooth Jazz Number Ones [Concord] (CD 4649388),
back to browsing

Smooth Jazz Number Ones [Concord]

  • 1. Total Experience, The - Boney James - (featuring George Duke)
    2. Rhythm Method, The - Paul Brown
    3. Sax-O-Loco - Kenny G
    4. Window of the Soul - Chuck Loeb
    5. Blue Water - Eric Marienthal
    6. Mornin' - George Benson/Al Jarreau
    7. Tequila Moon - Jessy J
    8. Let's Take a Ride - Norman Brown
    9. L.A. City Lights - Candy Dulfer
    10. Ready for Love - Walter Beasley
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 31447

  • Credits
    ProducerChuck Loeb; Michael Broening; Dave Love; Paul Rayner-Brown; Herman Jackson; James K. Lloyd; John Burk; Kenny G; Boney James; Brian Culbertson; Walter Afanasieff; Nick Phillips (Compilation)
    EngineerChris Brooke; Darius Fong; Dave Rideau; Don Murray; Erik Zobler; Thomas Banks; Michael Thompson; Paul Rayner-Brown; Jeff Carruthers; Steve Churchyard; Bill Schnee; Boney James; Brian Culbertson

    Personnel: George Benson (vocals, guitar); Chuck Loeb (guitar, keyboards, drum programming); Paul Rayner-Brown (guitar, percussion); Ulco Bed, Freddie Fox (guitar); Paul Jackson, Jr. (acoustic guitar); Tony Maiden (electric guitar); Gregg Karukas (strings, keyboards); Jeff Carruthers (strings, Moog synthesizer); Dan Higgins, Marion Meadows, Eddie Baccus, Jr. (saxophone); Kenny G (soprano saxophone); Candy Dulfer (alto saxophone, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone); Eric Marienthal (alto saxophone, tenor saxophone); Walter Beasley (alto saxophone); Jessy J, Boney James (tenor saxophone); Jerry Hey (trumpet, flugelhorn); Louk Boudesteijn, Bill Reichenbach Jr. (trombone); Mike Broening, James K. Lloyd (piano, keyboards, programming); Brian Culbertson (piano, keyboards, drum programming); Johnny Britt, Walter Afanasieff (piano); George Duke (Fender Rhodes piano); Thomas Banks, Herman Jackson (keyboards, programming); Kasper VanKooten, Alex Acua, Teddy Campbell (drums); Lenny Castro, Michito Snchez, Munyungo Jackson, Ron Powell (percussion); Al Jarreau (background vocals).
    Recording information: BCM Studios; Chieftan Estates Studios; Digital Zoo, Reseda, CA; From Above Music, Youngstown, OH; Funky Joint Studio, Sherman Oaks, CA; Henson Recording Studios, Hollywood, CA; La Cocina; Randyland Studios, Sharon Hill, PA; Sound Shack, Studio City, CA; Sugarhouse Studios; Sunset Sound, Hollywood, CA; WEstlake Studios, Los Angeles, CA.
    Arrangers: Kenny G; Brian Culbertson; Walter Afanasieff.
    SMOOTH JAZZ NUMBER ONES, as its title states, contains only number one hits--but not from the Billboard chart; these tracks all placed that spot on the Radio & Records Smooth Jazz chart. It hardly matters, though, since a slew of stars play their own hits. Norman Brown's "Let's Take a Ride" is here, as are Boney James's "The Total Experience" and George Benson's very breezy "Mornin'." The vibe is light and consistent--in other words, there are no overactive funkers to upset the balance.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $11.24
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for