CD Sonny Rollins on Impulse! [Remaster] (CD 143080),
back to browsing

Sonny Rollins on Impulse! [Remaster]

  • 1. On Green Dolphin Street
    2. Everything Happens to Me
    3. Hold 'Em Joe
    4. Blue Room, The
    5. Three Little Words
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 223

  • Credits
    ProducerBob Thiele
    EngineerRudy VanGelder

    Personnel: Sonny Rollins (tenor saxophone); Ray Bryant (piano); Walter Booker (bass); Mickey Roker (drums).
    Recorded at Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey on July 8, 1965.
    Digitally remastered by Erick Labson.
    Personnel: Sonny Rollins (tenor saxophone); Ray Bryant (piano); Mickey Roker (drums).
    Liner Note Author: Nat Hentoff.
    Recording information: 07/08/1965.
    Photographers: Charles Stewart ; Bob Thiele.
    Sonny Rollins made some excellent recordings for Impulse! in the mid-1960s, a time when his unassailable skills and acrobatic approach made him a leading saxophonist, and one of the few to rival John Coltrane. ON IMPULSE! has only five tracks, but each tells the complex, glorious story of Rollins's talent, especially in the stretched-out solos where his knack for inventively, endlessly de- and re-constructing melodies is evident. "On Green Dolphin Street," "Everything Happens to Me," and "Three Little Words" are among the standouts on this collection. The 2007 remaster boasts crisp and beautiful sound.

  • Critic Reviews
    JazzTimes (9/97, p.80) - "...Here [Rollins'] work has tremendous buoyancy and great continuity....Ray Bryant, Walter Booker and Mickey Roker provide him with with vigorous, intelligent accompaniment. Bryant's graceful complex solos deserve considerable praise and attention..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $14.98
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for