CD Space Book (CD 192965),
back to browsing

Space Book

  • 1. Number Two
    2. I Can't Get Started
    3. Mojo
    4. There Is No Greater Love
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 896

  • Credits
    ProducerDon Schlitten
    EngineerRudy VanGelder

    Personnel: Booker Ervin (tenor saxophone); Jaki Byard (piano); Richard Davis (bass); Alan Dawson (drums).
    Recorded at the Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey on October 2, 1964. Includes liner notes by Ira Gitler.
    Digitally remastered by Phil De Lancie (1996, Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, California).
    Personnel: Booker Ervin (tenor saxophone); Jaki Byard (piano); Alan Dawson (drums).
    Audio Remasterer: Phil DeLancie.
    Liner Note Author: Ira Gitler.
    Recording information: Van Gelder Studios, Englewood Cliffs, NJ (10/02/1964).
    Tenor saxophonist Booker Ervin's quartet with pianist Jaki Byard, bassist Richard Davis and drummer Alan Dawson was so strong and dynamic that it is surprising that it only existed in the recording studio, and only for two sessions. For the fourth and final of Ervin's series of Books, the music is indeed somewhat spacey. The group explores two standards ("I Can't Get Started" and "There Is No Greater Love") along with a pair of Ervin originals (the intense "Number Two" and "Mojo"), stretching the boundaries of hard bop without totally abandoning the chord changes. This CD is a fine example of Booker Ervin's unique style. ~ Scott Yanow

0 Stars 0 average rating
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Label: OJC 896
  • Distributor: Fantasy
  • Analog/Digital: AAD
  • Mono/Stereo: Stereo
  • Studio/Live: Studio
  • UPC: 025218689625
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $10.89
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for