CD Stan Kenton Today (CD 993112),
back to browsing

Stan Kenton Today

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. What Are You Doing the Rest of Your Life
    2. Chiapas
    3. Opus in Pastels
    4. Malaguea
    5. Artistry in Percussion
    6. Yesterdays
    7. Fringe Benefits
    8. Bogota
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Intermission Riff
    2. Ambivalence
    3. Interlude
    4. Peanut Vendor
    5. Malaga
    6. Walk Softly
    7. Take the 'A' Train
    8. Artistry in Rhythm
    9. God Save the Queen
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 4249

  • Credits
    ProducerRay Few
    EngineerArthur Bannister

    Originally released on Decca.
    Personnel: Stan Kenton (piano); Kim Frizell, Quinn Davis, Richard Torres (saxophone); Jay Saunders, Mike Vax (trumpet); Dick Shearer, Fred Carter, Joe Marcinkiewicz, Mike Jamieson, Ray Brown (trombone); John Von Ohlen (drums).
    Liner Note Author: Ken Hanna.
    Recording information: London, England.
    Unknown Contributor Roles: Chuck Carter; Phil Herring; Mike Wallace; Willie Maiden.
    This double LP with its lengthy liner notes does not give a complete listing of the personnel of Stan Kenton's 1972 orchestra; an unintentional but ironically understandable omission because Kenton's young band had few original personalities at this point. Other than veteran Willie Maiden (heard here on baritone), the soloists are at best semi-obscure. However, the musicianship is flawless and the repertoire for this Stan Kenton Today set is dominated by old classics including "Malaguea," "Intermission Riff," "Interlude," "Artistry in Percussion" and naturally, "The Peanut Vendor." Fans of college stage bands should enjoy this spirited music. ~ Scott Yanow

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $20.75
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for