CD Staying On the Watch [Digipak] (CD 6461420),
back to browsing

Staying On the Watch [Digipak]

  • 1. Metamorphosis
    2. A Distant Voice
    3. City of David
    4. Interplanetary Travelers
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 1030

  • Credits
    EngineerRichard L. Alderson

    Personnel: Sonny Simmons (alto saxophone), Barbara Donald (trumpet), John Hicks (piano), Teddy Smith (bass), Marvin Pattillo (percussion).
    Recorded on August 30, 1966.
    All songs written by Sonny Simmons.
    Personnel: Sonny Simmons (alto saxophone); Barbara Donald (trumpet); John Hicks (piano); Marvin Pattillo (percussion).
    Liner Note Author: Jason Weiss.
    Recording information: 08/30/1966.
    Altoist Sonny Simmons' debut as a leader is a typically stimulating and dense ESP blowout. Performing in a quintet with trumpeter Barbara Donald, the up-and-coming pianist John Hicks, bassist Teddy Smith and drummer Marvin Pattillo, Simmons stretches out on four colorful and mostly free-form originals. The intense set (which has been reissued on CD) still sounds quite advanced over three decades later. ~ Scott Yanow

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $14.18
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for