CD Straight Ahead [Monty Alexander] (CD 106377),
back to browsing

Straight Ahead [Monty Alexander]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. I'm Afraid the Masquerade Is Over
    2. You Call It Madness (But I Call It Love)
    3. Blues for Junior
    4. Sweet Georgia Brown
    5. I Want to Be Happy
    6. Put Your Little Foot Right Out
    7. Captain Bill
    8. To Each His Own
    9. Sister Sadie
    0. DISC 2:
    1. But Not for Me
    2. Time for Love, A
    3. Orange in Pain
    4. F.S.R. (For Sonny Rollins)
    5. For All We Know
    6. C.C. Rider
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 2167

  • Credits
    EngineerPhil Edwards; Yoshihisa Watanabe

    /Ray Brown/Herb Ellis.
    2 LPs on 2 CDs: TRIO (1981)/OVERSEAS SPECIAL (1984).
    Personnel: Monty Alexander (piano); Herb Ellis (guitar); Ray Brown (bass).
    Producers: Carl E. Jefferson, Yoichiro Kikuchi.
    Recorded at Coast Studios, San Francisco, California and live at the Satin Doll Club, Tokyo, Japan between August 1980 & March 1982. Includes liner notes by Leonard Feather, Philip Elwood.
    Personnel: Monty Alexander (piano); Herb Ellis (guitar).
    Audio Remasterer: George Horn.
    Audio Remixer: Phil Edwards .
    Liner Note Authors: Leonard Feather; Philip Elwood.
    Recording information: Coast Recorders, San Francisco, CA (08/1980-03/1982); Satin Doll Club, Tokyo, Japan (08/1980-03/1982).
    While Concord continues to release excellent mainstream jazz albums, the label also has an extraordinary back catalog from the '70s and the '80s. Straight Ahead packages two albums -- Trio (1981) and Overseas Special(1984) -- by pianist Monty Alexander, guitarist Herb Ellis, and bassist Ray Brown. The first disc captures the happy meeting of musical minds as the participants explore nine bubbly tunes. While the band can certainly cook on a piece like "I Want to Be Happy," the drummer-less trio brings a lighter touch to classics like "Sweet Georgia Brown." The four-to-five minute length of most of these songs leaves room for extended solos while retaining the taut, intimate feel of good trio work. The live Overseas Special was recorded almost two years later at the Satin Doll Club in Tokyo, and makes a fine companion to the earlier album. Here, the fellows stretch the songs a bit, offering a nine-minute version of "But Not for Me" and eight-minute take of "C.C. Rider." Also notable are two originals, Ellis' swinging "Orange in Pain" and Brown's bouncy "F.S.R." Both albums have plenty to offer to fans of any of the participants, and Straight Ahead is an apt title for the fine music Alexander, Brown, and Ellis make together.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $13.40
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for