CD Sunnyside 25th Anniversary (CD 1144451),
back to browsing

Sunnyside 25th Anniversary

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Impaler, The - Jeff "Tain" Watts
    2. Witch Hunt - Harold Danko/Kirk Lightsey
    3. Bye Ya - Jerry Gonzalez
    4. Alter Ego - James Williams
    5. Night Has a Thousand Eyes, The - Lee Konitz
    6. Playground for the Birds - Donald Brown
    7. Armageddon - Glenn Wilson/Rory Stuart
    8. Listen Little Girl - Meredith d'Ambrosio
    9. Blue in Green - Fred Hersch
    10. It's the Strangest Thing - Jay Leonhart
    11. Softly as in the Morning Sunrise - Billy Pierce
    12. Face on the Barroom Floor - Bob Belden Ensemble
    13. I've Grown Accustomed to Her Face - Carolyn Leonhart
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Jackleg Patrol, The - Geoff Keezer
    2. Beautiful Love - Steve Nelson
    3. Andorinha - Armen Donelian
    4. Fall - Rufus Reid
    5. All of You - Marc Copland
    6. Goodbye - Jay Clayton
    7. Other One, The - Laszlo Gardony
    8. Falling Grace - Kenny Werner
    9. Inside White - Deidre Rodman
    10. Baiao Medley - Luciana Souza
    11. Kevin's Waltz - Eddie Higgins
    12. No Name Tune - Guillermo Klein
    13. Samsara - Michael Leonhart
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 1160

  • Credits

    Composers: Guillermo Klein; Michael Leonhart; Bob Belden.
    Personnel: Jay Clayton, Meredith d'Ambrosio, Carolyn Leonhart (vocals); Kevin Eubanks (guitar); Rory Stuart (electric guitar); Billie Pierce (soprano saxophone); Lee Konitz (alto saxophone); Harold Land, Bob Belden (tenor saxophone); Michael Leonhart (trumpet, keyboards); Terence Blanchard (trumpet); Donald Brown , Eddie Higgins, Geoff Keezer, Guillermo Klein, Hank Jones , Harold Danko, Kenny Kirkland, Kirk Lightsey, Laszlo Gardony, Marc Copland, Rob Bargad, Armen Donelian, Fred Hersch, James Williams (piano); Steve Nelson Quartet (vibraphone); Jamey Haddad, Jeff "Tain" Watts, Roy Haynes, Tom Rainey, Joey Baron, Billy Hart (drums).
    Arrangers: Guillermo Klein; Michael Leonhart; Bob Belden.
    Sunnyside Records was founded in 1982 by ex-IBM employee Francois Zalacain, who names Jean-Jacques Pussiau and his Owl record label as major inspirations. Zalacain pinpoints the inception of Sunnyside to a duo album he recorded for Harold Danko and Rufus Reid in 1982, followed by albums for Kirk Lightsey, Lee Konitz and hundreds since. Zalacain proudly states that he operates what he calls "a relaxed independent label" with "an acceptance of any jazz style" and "no binding contracts" as well as "no specific mission." What stands out when you look through Sunnyside's extensive catalog is the diversity of styles and nationalities. Certainly the dominant mode on Sunnyside 25th Anniversary album is contemporary jazz by gifted improvisers like Lee Konitz, Eddie Higgins, Rufus Reid, Jeff "Tain" Watts, Billy Pierce and Fred Hersch, along with various European musicians who often do not show up on the cultural radar in the United States of America. But there is also a marvelous vocal performance by Grammy nominated Brazilian vocalist Luciana Souza, and an invigorating Latin jazz workout by Jerry Gonzalez. A truly representative sampler of Sunnyside's range of styles and genres would require several discs, for Zalacain has issued recordings by Clifton Chenier, Furry Lewis, the Wild Magnolias, Memphis Slim and Clarence "Gatemouth" Brown. The label's roster also contains the names of Charles Mingus, Astor Piazzolla, Oregon, Enrico Rava, Jimmy Giuffre, Stphane Grappelli, Django Reinhardt, Nina Simone, Martial Solal, Steve Lacy, Roswell Rudd, Tony Scott, Bob Mintzer, Paquito D'Rivera, Famoudou Don Moye, Gil Evans, Paul Motian, Avishai Cohen, Red Mitchell, Chris Potter, Ron Blake and the divine vocalist Jeanne Lee. This little 25th Anniversary taste barely begins to cover the magnitude and depth of Sunnyside Records. But it's a good way to get acquainted. ~ arwulf arwulf

  • Critic Reviews
    JazzTimes (p.110) - "Sunnyside's identity may best reveal itself in the consistent smarts that define its artist roster....Reliable mainstreamers mix with edgier players and idiosyncratic individualists who fall between the cracks."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $16.18
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for